University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Phi Kappa Phi honor society inducts 12 members at FMU

FLORENCE, S.C. – The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at Francis Marion University has announced the induction of 12 new members.

A formal induction ceremony will be held at 6:30 p.m. on April 12 in the McNair Science Building auditorium. The speaker will be R. Sethfield Smith, FMU’s Distinguished Professor for 1999-2000. A banquet for the initiates and their guests will follow. 

Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest and most selective multi-disciplinary honor society dedicated to the promotion of academic excellence, and annually awards national fellowships for graduate and international study and internships. Invitations for induction are extended only to students in the top 10 percent of the senior class or five percent of the junior class, with a minimum grade point average of 3.5. Outstanding graduate students, faculty, alumni and professional staff members are also eligible.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded at the University of Maine in 1897 and currently has chapters on the campuses of 282 colleges and universities in the United States, the Philippines and Puerto Rico.

Those being inducted this semester, by hometown, are:

Clover: Karina D. Landires

Darlington: Amanda Boyd

Duncan: Melissa Anne Weaver

Florence: Colleen Ann Appleton, Beth J.Cameron, and (FMU faculty member) Kenneth Williams

Kingstree: Ginger E. Tisdale

Lamar: Kirsten E. Jordan

Latta: Casey R. Demery

Nichols: Rachel D. Jones

Shoreham, N.Y.: Sabina G. Sapienza

Topeka, Kan.: Janet M. Rice

#156 / 3-14-01

Last Published: May 7, 2004 9:41 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from