University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU accepting nominations for Distinguished Professor

FLORENCE – Francis Marion University is currently accepting nominations for FMU’s Distinguished Professor for 2000-2001. The faculty member selected also will be the nominee of the university for the Governor’s Professor of the Year Award in the fall.

R. Sethfield “Seth” Smith, a professor of physics at FMU,  is the Distinguished Professor for 1999-2000.

Award criteria are the faculty member’s contributions in teaching, professional service and scholarly activity. Selection will be made from among nominated faculty members by the Distinguished Faculty Committee consisting of faculty and students appointed by university president Fred Carter.

Those eligible for consideration for this award must be current, full-time, tenured, tenure-track FMU employees, including department chairpersons and school deans. The Office of the Provost may be contacted with questions regarding a potential nominee’s eligibility.

Nominations may be made by any Francis Marion University student who has been enrolled within the past 12 months, as well as faculty and staff members.

Nominations must be made to the Office of the Provost in the form of a letter explaining why, in the opinion of the writer, the faculty member would be a worthy recipient. The deadline for nominations is March 5 at 5 p.m. For more information, contact the FMU Office of the Provost at 843-661-1281.

#128 / 2-1-01

Last Published: May 11, 2004 9:31 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from