University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU among 46 schools selected for new AAC&U institute
FLORENCE, S.C. – Francis Marion University is one of 46 colleges and universities selected to participate in a new institute this summer sponsored by the Association of American Colleges and Universities.
Julia Krebs, chair of the Department of Biology at FMU, will participate in the first summer institute sponsored by AAC&U’s initiative, Science Education for New Civic Engagements and Responsibilities (SENCER), to be held at Santa Clara University from Aug. 3-7. As team leader, Krebs will attend the summer institute and plan FMU’s full participation next year.

The SENCER Summer Institute is the first institute in a planned five-year dissemination project supported by the National Science Foundation. SENCER connects science education and civic engagement by teaching rigorous science through the study of complex, capacious, and unsolved public issues. The initiative will be developing and disseminating models for teaching science in a social context that can be implemented at a wide array of institutions. Participants at the first institute will learn about these new models for undergraduate science education, join in a national conversation on improving science education in the context of vexing civic challenges, and learn about resources to support continuing development and improvement of science education.

AAC&U is the leading national association devoted to advancing and strengthening liberal learning for all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Since its founding in 1915, AAC&U’s membership has grown to over 700 accredited public and private colleges and universities of every type and size.

SENCER Summer Institute - 2001
Aug. 3-7, Santa Clara University, San Jose, Calif.

Participating schools:
Antioch College
Arizona State University West
Augsburg College
Bates College
Beloit College
Bloomfield College
Bowie State University
Coe College
College of Charleston
Colorado College
Delta State University
Drake University
Florida Gulf Coast University
Francis Marion University
George Mason University
Hampshire College
Holyoke Community College
James Madison University
Keene State College
Kennesaw State University
King’s College
Loras College
Lourdes College
Lynchburg College
Madonna University
Montclair State University
Morgan State University
Mount Saint Mary’s College
North Carolina State University
North Central College
Oglethorpe University
Santa Clara University
Southern Oregon University
Susquehanna University
Talladega College
The College of Saint Rose
The College of St. Catherine
The College of Wooster
The Evergreen State College
University of Maryland University College (UMUC)
University of Missouri-Columbia
University of South Florida
Wartburg College
Western Nevada Community College
Wofford College
Yeshiva College

#2 / 7-5-01

Last Published: May 14, 2004 10:04 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from