University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



South Florence and Johnsonville High Schools Take Top Honors in Math Tournament

FLORENCE, S.C. – South Florence High School and Johnsonville High School took top honors at the recent Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament.  The tournament, sponsored by the Pee Dee Education Center and Francis Marion University, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building auditorium.

The 24th-annual event featured approximately 230 students from 14 area schools.

Participating schools were divided into Division I and Division II schools.  Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II.

All students took a one-hour written exam during morning competition.  Courtney Dease of Hanna-Pamplico High School recorded the highest individual result on the exam by earning 14 points (out of a possible 18).  Brandon Poston of Hannah-Pamplico and Tessa Jaeger of Johnsonville each earned 13 points, while Andy Elvington of Latta High School and Marcus McLaughlin of Dillon High School each recorded 12 points.

The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score.  The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals.

The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen.  Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly.

In Division I, Johnsonville won its 12th team title, the most of any school, by defeating Hanna-Pamplico (second), and Latta and Mullins high schools (tied for third).  The four individuals who represented Johnsonville in the finals were Jaeger, Brett Lewis, Rebecca Driggers, and Magan Bishop.  Melanie Graham is the Johnsonville math team adviser.

Among Division II schools, South Florence captured its third team title in the past six years.  Marion High School placed second, followed by Dillon and Marlboro County high schools.  Representing South Florence in the afternoon finals were Annie Chen, Matt Ross, Kristin Haggerty, and Vicky Lai.  Sherry Young serves as the adviser for the South Florence math team.


Last Published: April 7, 2004 10:14 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from