University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Patriot Golfers Named to All-Peach Belt Team

FLORENCE, S.C. –  Francis Marion University sophomore Fredrik Ohlsson and junior Matt Dura have been named to the 2002 Peach Belt Conference All-Conference Golf Team.

 Ohlsson, a native of Goteborg, Sweden, has played every round (23) this season for the Patriots and leads the squad with a 73.39 stroke average.  Including his fifth-place finish at last weekend’s PBC Championship Tournament, he has posted three top-5 finishes and seven top-15 finishes (in 10 events) during the 2001-02 season.  During the spring season (14 rounds), he has shot 72 or lower six times.

 By virtue of his finish at the Peach Belt Tournament, he also earned All-Tournament Team honors.

Dura, a native of Sumter, earns All-Conference honors for the second consecutive year. He has played 20 rounds this season and owns a 74.30 stroke average, second-lowest on the Patriot squad.  He placed eighth at the PBC Tournament, and has recorded four top-10 finishes this year.  His performances include four sub-par rounds (67, 67, 69, 70).

 Francis Marion is ranked 10th nationally with a 111-40-3 record and will compete in the 79-team NCAA Division II Atlantic/Southeast Super Regional Tournament, May 6-8, in Sneads Ferry, N.C.  The regional fields were announced this past weekend by the NCAA national office.

The winner of each regional will advance to the Division II national championships, May 21-24, in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla., along with eight at-large schools to be selected on May 10.

At each of the past two regional tournaments (under a different qualifying format), Francis Marion has just missed qualifying for the national championships – by one stroke in 2000 and six strokes in 2001.

2002 Peach Belt Golf All-Conference Team
David Robinson, Georgia College & State University
Wes Byers, USC Aiken
Aaron Black, USC Aiken
Frederik Ohlsson, Francis Marion
Scott Usher, USC Aiken
Matt Dura, Francis Marion
Lee Harper, USC Aiken
William Gwyn, Georgia College & State University
Player of the Year: David Robinson, Georgia College & State University
Freshman of the Year: Matt Drye, UNC Pembroke


Last Published: April 5, 2004 11:59 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from