University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Hendrick Scholarship established at FMU

 FLORENCE, S.C. – The Francis Marion University Department of Physics and Astronomy has established the Lynn D. “Skip” Hendrick Scholarship in Physics and Health Physics.

 The endowment will serve as a lasting tribute to Hendrick, who died in 1998 after serving as coordinator of physics at FMU for 28 years.

 Under his leadership, the physics program grew from one course with an enrollment of six students to more than 18 courses with an annual enrollment of more than 900 students. He developed majors in physics, health physics and engineering technology.

 Hendrick was named the FMU Distinguished Professor of the Year in 1989. He received the George B. Pegram Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1998. The Pegram Award is given to the most outstanding physics professor in a 13-state region that comprises the Southeastern Section of the American Chemical Society.

 The amount needed to endow the scholarship is $100,000. When fully funded, the endowment remains secure in perpetuity and only the earnings derived from the invested funds are used to fund the scholarship. The scholarship will be awarded to FMU students who are majoring in physics and/or health physics and who are deemed by the physics faculty as deserving of this special recognition.

 For more information or to make a contribution to the scholarship, call the FMU Foundation at 843-661-1481.

#158 / 4-29-03

Last Published: March 8, 2004 10:46 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from