University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Non-Profit Leadership Institute at FMU graduates inaugural class

 FLORENCE, S.C. – Twenty-six South Carolina residents, primarily from the Pee Dee, participated in commencement exercises for the inaugural class of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, April 25.

 Remarks were given by Bradley Callicott, executive director of the Doctors Bruce and Lee Foundation, and FMU president Fred Carter. Institute participants were each presented with a certificate.

 Initially funded by a $75,000 grant from the Doctors Bruce and Lee Foundation of Florence, the institute provides leadership training for non-profit groups in the Pee Dee region. The effort is also being supported by an evaluation grant from the PSARAS Foundation of Columbia.

 The sessions of the training program were held Sept. 20, Oct. 24-25, Nov. 22, Feb. 20-21, March 27-28, and April 24-25.

Topics included leadership; program development and delivery; human resource development, including board members and volunteers; effective financial resource development and management; programmatic and organizational issues related to data collection and reporting; visibility, including managing external relations; and case studies.

Fred Sheheen, former commissioner and executive director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, is director of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute.

The class will be conducted again during the 2003-2004 academic year. For more information, contact the FMU Foundation at 843-661-1481.

Participants in the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University
(Hometown: Name, Organization)

Bennettsville: Carole Bowdre, Hospice of Marlboro County

Chapin: Pi Johnson, South Carolina Nurses Foundation

Columbia: Renatta Loquist, South Carolina Nurses Foundation

Dillon: Johnnie Luehrs, Dillon County Chamber/Dillon County United Way

Florence: Sally Bugg, The Byrnes Schools; Ronald Chatham, NESA; Frank Crow, Florence Regional Arts Alliance; Susan Goldstein, Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee Area; Linda Mitchell Johnson, Senior Citizens Association; Eric Jones, Eastern South Carolina Alliance; Sue Palumbo, Florence Little Theatre; Paul Pittman, Circle Park Behavioral Health Services; Madie Robinson, Pee Dee Healthy Start Inc.; Spencer R. Scott, Florence County First Steps; Ruth Thomas, Family Connection of South Carolina Inc.; Ellen Tisdale, FDTC Foundation; Jane Tuttle, individual; J. Austin Watson, Lighthouse Ministries

Georgetown: Jim Dumm, Tara Hall Home for Boys; Pat Strickland, Georgetown United Way Inc.

Hamer: Ruth Norris, Christ Church, Unity

Hampton: Kim Wilson, People Empowering People

Manning: Marguirite DeLaine, Briggs. v. Elliott Organization

Marion: Gloria Sawyer, Morning Star Christian Academy

Myrtle Beach: Shirley Wright, Rape Crisis Center

Summerton: Bea Rivers, Briggs-DeLaine-Pearson Foundation

#156 / 4-25-03

Last Published: March 8, 2004 10:51 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from