University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Kitts Named Associate Provost at FMU; Thigpen to Serve as Interim Chair of Political Science

FLORENCE---Kenneth D. Kitts has been appointed associate provost at Francis Marion University.  He replaces Don Kelley who died in November.

 As associate provost, Kitts will be responsible for the university’s graduate programs and summer school.  He has been chairman of FMU’s Department of Political Science and Geography since 2000.  He also served as interim chairman in 1997. 

Neal D. Thigpen will serve as interim chairman of political science and geography, a department of 11 faculty members and about 150 majors.

 Both appointments are effective immediately.

“I am delighted that these two distinguished faculty members have accepted these appointments,” said Provost Richard Chapman. “Both are highly respected by their colleagues, and they bring a great deal of experience to these administrative positions.”

An associate professor of political science, Kitts joined the FMU faculty in 1987.  He has previous teaching experience at Appalachian State University and the University of South Carolina.

 A native of Waynesville, N.C., he earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Appalachian State University and a doctorate from the University of South Carolina.  He was the first recipient of the Florence World Affairs Council’s Citizen Diplomat Award in 2000.

 Thigpen came to FMU in 1971 and was the founding chairman of FMU’s political science program.  He served as chairman of that program until 1996.  Prior to joining the FMU faculty, he taught at Western Maryland College and the University of Maryland.       OVER

 A professor of political science, he holds bachelor’s, master’s and  doctoral degrees from the University of Maryland.  He is a native of Baltimore, Md.

 Thigpen was a member of the S.C. State Election Commission from 1978 to 1994, including a stint as chairman.  He also was vice chairman of the S.C. Republican Party from 1974 to 1978 and has been a delegate to five Republican National Conventions.

#86 / 1-8-03

Last Published: March 29, 2004 9:43 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from