University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Chandler, Davis Named FMU's Outstanding Employees

         FLORENCE---Sammie Chandler and Yvonne Davis, both of Florence, have been named outstanding staff employees of the year at Francis Marion University.

         The awards were presented July 21 during the staff awards luncheon, which also honored FMU employees for length of state service.

         Chandler is a central receiving/warehouse assistant in the physical plant, and Davis is coordinator of monographs and electronic resources in Rogers Library.

         Chandler has been employed at FMU for 14 years and Davis for 23 years.  Both were cited for their dedication to their jobs and for service above and beyond the call of duty.

         President Carter presented Chandler and Davis with plaques and $1,000 checks in recognition of winning this annual award for FMU employees. 

         Seven employees were recognized for 30 years of state service.  They are: H. Paul Dove Jr. of Marion, dean of Rogers Library; Joyce M. Durant of Florence, acquisitions librarian, Rogers Library;  Joseph E. Heyward of Florence, vice president for student affairs;  Nancy A. Jeffords of Florence, systems support technician, Rogers Library;  Yvette H. Pierce of Florence, assistant reference librarian, Rogers Library;  Patricia T. Pigatt of Florence, circulaton manager, Rogers Library; and Travis W. Ragsdale of Florence, laboratory manager, Chemistry Department.

        Employees honored for 20 years of service include: Ronald P. Flowers of Hartsville, director of purchasing;  A. Chris Pompey of Darlington, central receiving/warehouse specialist;  W. Calvin Thompson of Latta, superintendent of custodial services;  and Bradley W. Wofford of Aynor, director of the media center.

         Employees recognized for 10 years of service were: Richard J. Austin of Florence, director, Department of Public Safety;  Randy D. Cooper of Marion, craftsman in the physical plant;  Eric L. Garris of Marion, associate director of financial information, business affairs;  Earl J. Glenn of Florence, captain, Department of Public Safety;  Lula M. Hayden of Florence, lead custodian, Physical Plant;  Donald L. Jackson of Hartsville, accountant, business affairs;  Marcia V. Johnson of Marion, lead custodian, Physical Plant;  Karl D. McAlister of Dillon, library technical assistant, Rogers Library;  Eunice I. Rabon of Marion, director of publications and printing;  and M. Arleen Waters of Florence, accounting assistant, business affairs.

        Four employees retiring from FMU were also recognized—Owen M. Martin of Florence, 32 years;  Flora S. James of Florence, 31 years;  Nyrita J. Myers of Florence, 29 years;  and Sarah H. Brown of Florence, 26 years.

#5 / 7-21-04

Last Published: July 21, 2004 10:36 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from