University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU receives Beta Gamma Sigma Premier Chapter award

The Francis Marion University collegiate chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, a business honor society, has been recognized as a Premier Chapter for its superior level of membership acceptance and promotional activities during the 2003-2004 academic year. 

By receiving the Premier Chapter award, the FMU chapter is being recognized for its high level of success in recruiting top business students into the society. Each year, collegiate Beta Gamma Sigma chapters extend invitations to the top 7 percent of business juniors, the upper 10 percent of business seniors, and the highest 20 percent of business graduate students. Chapters granted Premier status have had at least 85 percent of their invitations accepted by their top undergraduate and graduate level students. Acceptance rates are taken from the 2003-2004 school year, from which collegiate chapters were required to submit information before being considered a Premier Chapter.  According to information submitted by the FMU chapter, 85 percent of invited students chose to join Beta Gamma Sigma in 2003-2004.

With Premier Chapter status, the FMU BGS collegiate chapter will now be eligible to award a $1,000 Beta Gamma Sigma scholarship in the 2005-2006 academic year. The chapter is also pre-qualified for consideration as an Outstanding Chapter, the highest honor attainable by a collegiate chapter. Francis Marion University’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter will also receive a certificate recognizing its Premier accomplishments.

Of the 417 Beta Gamma Sigma chapters currently established on college and university campuses, only 62 were recognized as a Premier Chapter in 2004.  

Founded in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society for AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The mission of Beta Gamma Sigma is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and to foster personal and professional excellence among its members. In order to meet this goal, Beta Gamma Sigma annually extends Society membership to the best and brightest students from AACSB accredited business programs.  Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma provides students with lifelong recognition of their high scholarly achievement, a benefit they carry throughout the rest of their academic and professional careers. 

Beta Gamma Sigma 2004 inductees are, by hometown:

South Carolina
Bennettsville: Michael Hay Tatum, Jerry Ronald Bracey
Hartsville: Ashleigh Paige Carnes, James Julian Meshaw (MBA)
Hemingway: Kathy Elaine Joye
Florence: Justin Jordan Hill, Christopher Daniel Sawyer, Page Neal Brooks, Samuel Barrett Schafer II, Corina Violeta San-Marina (MBA)
Manning: Kristy Lynn Starnes
Marietta: Sarah Joy Hatampa
Patrick: Kevin Allen O’Neal
Ruby: William Gettys Horne III
Westminister: Vaughn Elise Bowen

Germany: Theo Dieter Theuner

#53 / 10-27-04

Last Published: October 29, 2004 10:58 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from