University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Wilson and Hannah-Pamplico High Schools Take Top Honors in Math Tournament

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Wilson High School and Hannah-Pamplico High School took top honors at the recent Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament.  The tournament, sponsored by the Pee Dee Education Center and Francis Marion University, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building auditorium.

    The 27th-annual event featured 244 students from 15 area schools.

    Participating schools were divided into Division I and Division II schools.  Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II.

    All students participated in a one-hour written competition during the morning portion of the tournament.  Bella Wang and Robert Wells, both of Wilson High School, recorded the highest individual result, correctly answering 16 of 18 problems.  Megan Hyman of Hannah-Pamplico High School was third and Maegan Rogers of Latta High School and David Braddy of Dillon High School tied for fourth.  Braddy was second in last year’s written competition.

    The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score.  The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals.

    The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen.  Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly.

    In Division I, Hannah-Pamplico won its fifth team title, but its first since 1996, by defeating Johnsonville and Mullins High School (tied for second) and Latta High School (fourth).  The four individuals who represented Hannah-Pamplico in the finals were Lance Butler, Hyman, Kelvin Pompey, and Elliot Turner.  Carolyn Riddick is the Hannah-Pamplico math team adviser.

    Among Division II schools, Wilson captured its first team title since the inaugural competition in 1979.  Dillon High School placed second, followed by Marion High School and Hartsville High School.  Representing Wilson in the afternoon finals were Ming Li, Samir Panvelker, Wang, and  Wells.  Dorothy Fleck serves as the adviser for the Wilson math team.

#71 / 12-16-04 / L,R

Last Published: December 13, 2004 9:18 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from