University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



29 students to participate in S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at FMU

FLORENCE, S.C. – Twenty-nine South Carolina high school seniors will participate in the first S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at Francis Marion University, Feb. 19-21.

 The program will focus on nuclear physics, astronomy, laser physics, and computational physics. Students will be introduced to the methods of thought and understanding that are used in physics and astronomy. They will perform experiments, analyze data, and be encouraged to make sense of their observations in a scientific manner.

 Numerous academic and social activities are also planned. The event will kick off with a welcoming reception that will be hosted by the faculty and students of the FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy. The core academic experience of the institute will be participation in 10 advanced experiments in physics and astronomy. Participants will receive tours of FMU’s signature laboratories, and there will be group activities in the FMU observatory and Dooley Planetarium.

 All participants were nominated by their high school physics teachers, and have demonstrated aptitude in science and mathematics.

 “The FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy is pleased to host some of the state’s brightest high school seniors for this event,” said David Peterson, FMU physics professor and director of the institute. “These outstanding students will have a great opportunity to learn more about all areas of physics through a variety of experiments and other academic activities.”

 Participants in the S.C. Physics Scholars Institute, by hometown, are:

Anderson: Victor Carosiello, Pendleton High
Beaufort: Meredith Andrepont, Beaufort Academy
Blythewood: Benjamin Moak, Ben Lippen High
Clemson: David DeWitt, D.W. Daniel High
Columbia: Albena Iotova, Richland Northeast High; Jasmeen Pharr, Ridge View High
Conway: Melissa Oliver, Conway High
Enoree: Angela Holmes, Woodruff High
Florence: William Triplett: The King’s Academy; Robert Clemons, South Florence High
Goose Creek: Ashley O’Brien, Stratford High; Dmitri Virnig, Stratford High
Greenwood: James Flynn, Emerald High
Lancaster: Kasey Crompton, Lancaster High
Little River: Jonathan White, North Myrtle Beach High; Sheena Gause, North Myrtle Beach High
Loris: Amber Porter, Loris High School; Christopher Bellamy, Loris High School
Murrells Inlet: Richard Wilkes, Waccamaw High
Pelion: Kevin Ludwick, Pelion High; Sherise Jones, Pelion High
Piedmont: Justin Moody, Wren High
Pinewood: Dorea Pleasant, Lakewood High
Springfield: Anesha Maxwell, Hunter Kinard Tyler High
St. Matthews: Don Rickenbaker, Calhoun Academy; Richard Walker, Calhoun Academy
St. Stephen: Onica Washington, Timberland High
Timmonsville: Ngoc Nguyen, Trinity Collegiate
Wedgefield: Eddie Reece, Lakewood High

#104 / 2-12-04

Last Published: March 10, 2004 10:22 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from