University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



College of Charleston, Francis Marion University To Host 77th Annual Meeting of S.C. Academy of Science

FLORENCE---The College of Charleston and Francis Marion University will co-host the 77th annual meeting of the South Carolina Academy of Science April 15-16 in Charleston.

 To be held at the College of Charleston, the annual meeting will feature morning and afternoon sessions for the South Carolina Junior Academy and the S.C. Senior Academy on April 16. Sessions are scheduled in Hollings Science Center and the Education Center.  Between 400 and 500 participants are expected to attend.

A general session is scheduled at 11 a.m. April 16 in Physicians Memorial Auditorium and will include the presentation of the Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Science and the Academy’s Award for the Science or Math Teacher of the Year.

That session will also feature a presentation by Scott Harris, a member of the faculty at Coastal Carolina University, on “The Science of the H.L. Hunley: Interdisciplinary Study of a 140-year-old Submarine.”  Harris has been a marine geoscientist with the Hunley project since 1998.

Other presentations related to the confederate submarine are also scheduled during the conference—the search for the final crew on April 15 and a behind-the-scenes tour of the Hunley project April 16 (see website  The burial of the Hunley crew is scheduled for April 17.

David Stroup, professor of biology at Francis Marion University, is the program chair for the annual meeting.  As president-elect for the S.C. Academy of Science, he will become president of the organization in July 2004.

Stroup says the conference promotes research and provides an opportunity for competition among students at the high school and two-year college levels, as well as among undergraduate and graduate students.

The S.C. Academy of Science was founded in 1924 to improve the quality of science and mathematics education and to promote the creation and dissemination of scientific knowledge within the state.  It is the only interdisciplinary professional science and mathematics organization in South Carolina whose membership includes students, parents, teachers, administrators, academic and industrial scientists, businesses and institutions of higher learning.

The 2004 annual meeting of the academy is partially supported by Roche Carolina Inc., Mead Westvaco, Michelin, Santee Cooper and Milliken & Co.

More information about the conference can be found on the organization’s website at or by calling Stroup at 843-661-1407.

#139 / 4-2-04

Last Published: April 5, 2004 7:50 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from