University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Beta Gamma Sigma inducts 17 members at FMU

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Sixteen students and one prominent community member were inducted into the Francis Marion University Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the national honor society of AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, in a ceremony at FMU, April 19.

    AACSB International grants accreditation only to the top-quality business schools in the nation and around the world. Induction into Beta Gamma Sigma signifies that the inductees have demonstrated high academic achievement and adhere to the ideals of the society: to guard and cherish honor, to strive to acquire wisdom and use it for the betterment of mankind, and to cultivate earnestness in all their undertakings.

    Jean Leatherman is the 2004 Honoree Inductee. A leader in the local business community, Leatherman has demonstrated the ideals of Beta Gamma Sigma in starting and running a very successful real estate business in Florence. Her community involvement is equally impressive, as she has served on numerous boards and as chair of the Greater Pee Dee Board of Realtors.

    FMU students inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, by hometown, are:

Bennettsville: Michael Hay Tatum, Jerry Ronald Bracey
Florence: Justin Jordan Hill, Christopher Daniel Sawyer, Page Neal Brooks, Samuel Barrett Schafer II, Corina Violeta San-Marina, Theo Dieter Theuner
Hartsville: Ashleigh Paige Carnes, James Julian Meshaw
Hemingway: Kathy Elaine Joye
Manning: Kristy Lynn Starnes
Marietta: Sarah Joy Hatampa
Patrick: Kevin Allen O’Neal
Ruby: William Gettys Horne III
Westminister: Vaughn Elise Bowen

#163 / 4-26-04

Last Published: April 27, 2004 7:29 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from