University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Non-Profit Leadership Institute at FMU graduates second class

FLORENCE, S.C. – Twenty-five South Carolina residents, primarily from the Pee Dee, participated in commencement exercises for the second class of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, April 23.

 Remarks were given by Bradley Callicott, executive director of the Doctors Bruce and Lee Foundation, and FMU president Fred Carter. Institute participants were each presented with a certificate.

 Initially funded by a $75,000 grant from the Doctors Bruce and Lee Foundation of Florence, the institute provides leadership training for non-profit groups in the Pee Dee region. The effort is also being supported by an evaluation grant from the PSARAS Foundation of Columbia.

 The sessions of the training program were held Sept. 19, Oct. 23-24, Nov. 21, Jan. 22-23, Feb. 20, March 26, and April 22-23.

Topics included leadership; program development and delivery; human resource development, including board members and volunteers; effective financial resource development and management; programmatic and organizational issues related to data collection and reporting; visibility, including managing external relations; and case studies.

Fred Sheheen, former commissioner and executive director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, is director of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute.

The class will be conducted again during the 2004-2005 academic year. For more information, contact the FMU Foundation at 843-661-1295.

Participants in the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University
(Hometown: Name, Organization)

Bennettsville: Carolyn Lide, Marlboro County Disabilities and Special Needs Board; Ivy McLaurin, Marlboro Area Arts Council

Columbia: Susan Harrison, Midlands Partnership Parish Nurse Program

Conway: Ed Andersen, Shoreline Behavioral Health Services; Bernard Massey, Conway Medical Center Foundation

Darlington: Jackie Anderson, Darlington County Council on Aging

Florence: Peggy Brown, Responsible Economic Development; Carl Humphries, Hope for the Pee Dee; Betsy Olsen, Florence Museum of Art, Science and History; Kelly Sellers, Francis Marion University Alumni Association; Tom Whiteley, Florence Breakfast Optimist Club

Georgetown: Patsy Morris, Tara Hall Home for Boys

Hartsville: Willie Alcorn, Christmas in April; Anne Keane Gainey, Pee Dee Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Assault

Johnsonville: Lisa Ann Robinson, Communities In Schools of Florence County

Kingstree: Patsy Chestnut, Williamsburg County Disabilities and Special Needs Board

Lake City: Elaine Frye, Greater Lake City Chamber of Commerce; Kimberly Sims, Lake City Revitalization

Lamar: Faye Griffin, Friends of the Lamar Library

Murrells Inlet: Ashlee Lowe, Special Olympics South Carolina

Myrtle Beach: Janet Danehart, Rape Crisis Center; Bill Davis, S.O.S. Health Care Inc.; Joyce Hart, Rape Crisis Center; Cookie Sprouse, Chapin Foundation

Pamplico: Cynthia Parks, Gibbs Procurement Group

#166 / 4-28-04

Last Published: May 10, 2004 10:53 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from