University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



31 Students participate in S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at FMU
Thirty-one South Carolina high school seniors participated in the second-annual S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at Francis Marion University in February.

The program focused on nuclear physics, astronomy, laser physics, and computational physics. Students were introduced to the methods of thought and understanding that are used in physics and astronomy. They performed experiments, analyzed data, and were encouraged to make sense of their observations in a scientific manner.

Numerous academic and social activities were also held. The event kicked off with a welcoming reception that was hosted by the faculty and students of the FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy. The core academic experience of the institute was participation in 10 advanced experiments in physics and astronomy. Participants received tours of FMU’s signature laboratories, and there were group activities in the FMU observatory and Dooley Planetarium.

All participants were nominated by their high school physics teachers, and have demonstrated aptitude in science and mathematics.

“The FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy was pleased to host some of the state’s brightest high school seniors for this event,” said David Peterson, FMU physics professor and director of the institute. “These outstanding students had a great opportunity to learn more about all areas of physics through a variety of experiments and other academic activities.”

Participants in the S.C. Physics Scholars Institute, by hometown, were:

Aiken: Leland Mark, Silver Bluff High

Central: Noah Welsh, D.W. Daniel High

Columbia: Chris Harrell, Cardinal Newman High; Jack Chang, Ben Lippen School

Darlington: Lisa Sha, Trinity Collegiate  

Dillon: Diana Cheung, Dillon High        

Duncan: Robert Smith, James F. Byrnes High

Florence: Daniel Sims, West Florence High; Andy Witherspoon, West Florence High; Robert Hembree, The Byrnes School; Lisanne Anders, The Byrnes School

Greer: Myles Watling, Greer High; Ben Campbell, Blue Ridge High

Hanahan: Donovan Bode, Hanahan High; Jared Stokes, Hanahan High

Hartsville: Aaron Huntley, Huntley Christian Homeschool; Robert Gilliard, Hartsville High

Johnston: David Baldwin, Strom Thurmond High

Lake City: Cara Singletary, Lake City High         

Laurens: Samantha Penland, Laurens District 55 High; Cody Hudson, Laurens District 55 High

North Charleston: Brandon Bush, Fort Dorchester High

Orangeburg: Jason Raines, Orangeburg Preparatory

Pamplico: Elliot Turner, Hannah-Pamplico High

Summerville: Wade Golden, Goldens Academic Freedom  

Sumter: Matt Smith, Wilson Hall; Andrew McCord, Wilson Hall; Susanna Nethery, Homeward Education Homeschool

Williamston: Travis Hancock, Palmetto High; Alysia Hewitt, Palmetto High

Winnsboro: Edwin Squirewell, Fairfield Central High

#124 / 3-28-05

Last Published: March 28, 2005 9:08 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from