University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Non-Profit Leadership Institute at FMU graduates third class
Thirty South Carolina residents, primarily from the Pee Dee, participated in commencement exercises for the third class of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, May 6.

Remarks were given by Bradley Callicott, executive director of the Doctors Bruce and Lee Foundation, and FMU president Fred Carter. Institute participants were each presented with a certificate.

Initially funded by a $75,000 grant from the Doctors Bruce and Lee Foundation of Florence, the institute provides leadership training for non-profit groups in the Pee Dee region. The effort is also being supported by an evaluation grant from the PSARAS Foundation of Columbia.

The sessions of the training program were held Sept. 17, Oct. 21-22, Nov. 18-19, Jan. 20-21, Feb. 18, March 24, and May 5-6.

Topics included leadership; program development and delivery; human resource development, including board members and volunteers; effective financial resource development and management; programmatic and organizational issues related to data collection and reporting; visibility, including managing external relations; and case studies.

Fred Sheheen, former commissioner and executive director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, is director of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute.

The class will be conducted again during the 2005-2006 academic year. For more information, contact the FMU Foundation at 843-661-1481.

Participants in the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University

(Hometown: Name, Organization)

Barnwell: Gail Ness Richardson, Greater Savannah River Community Foundation

Bennettsville: Ken Harmon, Bennettsville Downtown Development Association

Bishopville: Alexis Pipkins, Lee County First Steps

Charleston: Shelli D. Quenga, Carolina’s Children Charity; Lynn C. Greer, Carolina Medical Assessment Center

Columbia: Dolly G. Patton, Mental Illness Recovery Center; Beppie LeGrand, S.C. Community Builders; Mary S. Eaddy, PRO-Parents of S.C.; Irma Santana, Acercamiento Hispano de Carolina del Sur; Paula Millen, S.C. Humanities Council

Conway: Melissa A Norris, Shoreline Behavioral Health Services; Karen S. Cardone, Horry County Literacy Council; Bill Harrill, Southern Baptist Convention; Amy N. Breault, Horry County First Steps

Darlington: Reba Hull Campbell, Governor’s School for Science and Math Foundation

Florence: Deena Hilton, Hope Health Inc.; Anita Case, Hope Health Inc.

Hartsville: Mamie Bostic, Darlington County First Steps; Mark Sobiski, CareFIRST Carolina Foundation

Kingstree: Lillie C. McGill, Enterprise Community Commission; Ron Wallace, Ron Wallace Music Ministry Foundation

Longs: Teresa Lipscomb, SOS Health Care

Manning: Ann B. Hemingway, Clarendon County Council on Aging; Blanche G. Odom, Clarendon County Council on Aging; Marcy Frierson, Clarendon County Council on Aging

Myrtle Beach: Caren Whittier, SOS Health Care

Newberry: Constance Clark Rinehart, Gift of Life Trust Fund

Pawleys Island: Elizabeth R. Marlow, Miss Ruby’s Kids; Jo Fortuna, Miss Ruby’s Kids

Sumter: Deborah K. Smith, Sumter County DSN Board

#162 / 5-9-05

Last Published: May 10, 2005 6:14 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from