University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU continues partnership with Teacher Cadet program

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Francis Marion University is continuing its partnership with the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement (CERRA) in Rock Hill, and 20 Pee Dee area high schools for the Teacher Cadet program.

    The purpose of CERRA is to provide leadership in identifying, attracting, placing, and retaining well-qualified individuals for the teaching profession in South Carolina. In doing so, CERRA responds to the changing needs for teachers from under-represented populations, in critical subject fields and in under-served geographical areas in South Carolina. The FMU School of Education works with CERRA to promote the teaching profession through the Teacher Cadet program.

    High-achieving high school juniors and seniors with an interest in becoming educators can apply to South Carolina’s Teacher Cadet program. The Teacher Cadet program in high school is considered an introduction or orientation to the teaching profession. Its main purpose is to encourage students who possess a high level of academic achievement and the personality traits found in good teachers to consider teaching as a career.

    An important secondary goal of the program is to provide these future community leaders with insights about schools. Although the course is taught at the college freshman level, the curriculum includes simulations and other hands-on activities designed to excite students about teaching. Students are exposed to teaching careers and the education system through a variety of teaching methods.

    Francis Marion University is a college partner to the following 20 high schools: Aynor High School, C. E. Murray High School, Crestwood High School, Darlington High School, Dillon High School, East Clarendon High School, Hannah-Pamplico High School, Hartsville High School, Kingstree High School, Lake City High School, Lakewood High School, Lamar High School, Manning High School, Marion High School, Marlboro County High School, Mayo School for Math, Science, and Technology, Mullins High School, South Florence High School, West Florence High School, and Wilson High School. Upon successful completion of the Teacher Cadet curriculum and clinical experience, Teacher Cadets receive two hours of college-level credit at no cost.

    For more information, contact FMU education professor Sharon Moore Askins at 843-661-1490.

#43 / 9-27-05

Last Published: February 22, 2007 10:13 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from