University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Wilson and Hannah-Pamplico High Schools Take Top Honors in Math Tournament

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Wilson High School and Hannah-Pamplico High School both took top honors for the second consecutive year at the Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament. The tournament, sponsored by the Pee Dee Education Center and Francis Marion University, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building auditorium.

    The 28th-annual event featured 195 students from 14 area schools.

    Participating schools were divided into Division I and Division II schools. Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II.

    All students participated in a one-hour, 16-question, written competition during the morning portion of the tournament. Bella Wang of Wilson, who shared top honors last year, recorded the highest individual result on the exam. John Tsai of Wilson was second and Ericka Weaver of Hannah-Pamplico was third. Receiving honorable mention recognition were Maggie Lin and Mira Narayan of Wilson, Benjamin Cooper and Brianne Fleming of Hannah-Pamplico, and Tiffany Avant of Johnsonville High School.

    The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score. The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals.

    The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen. Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly.

    In Division I, Hannah-Pamplico won its sixth overall team title by defeating Mullins High School (second), Johnsonville (third), and Creek Bridge High School (fourth). The four individuals who represented Hannah-Pamplico in the finals were Donny Harter, Sarah Miller, Cooper, and Weaver. Carolyn Riddick is the Hannah-Pamplico math team adviser.

    Among Division II schools, Wilson captured its third overall team title. South Florence High School placed second, followed by Dillon High School and Marion High School. Representing Wilson in the afternoon finals were Ray Tsai, John Tsai, Lin, and Wang. Dorothy Fleck serves as the adviser for the Wilson math team.
Past Tournament Winners

          Division I                                                                            Division II

2006   Hannah-Pamplico High School                         2006   Wilson High School

2005   Hannah-Pamplico High School                         2005   Wilson High School

2004   East Clarendon High School                             2004   Dillon High School

2003   Mullins High School                                             2003   Dillon High School

2002   Johnsonville High School                                   2002   South Florence High School

2001   Latta High School                                                2001   Mayo High School for Math,Science,and Technology

2000   Latta High School                                                2000   Mayo High School for Math,Science,and Technology

1999   Johnsonville High School                                  1999   South Florence High School

1998   Johnsonville High School                                  1998   Dillon High School

1997   Johnsonville High School                                   1997   South Florence High School

1996   Hannah-Pamplico High School                         1996   Dillon High School

1995   Johnsonville High School                                   1995   Hartsville High School

1994   Hannah-Pamplico High School                         1994   Marion High School

1993   Hannah-Pamplico High School                         1993   Marion High School

1992   Johnsonville High School                                    1992   Hartsville High School

1991   Mullins High School                                              1991   Marion High School

1990   East Clarendon High School                             1990   Hartsville High School

1989   East Clarendon High School                              1989   West Florence High School

1988   East Clarendon High School                             1988   Marion High School

1987   Johnsonville High School                                   1987   Marion High School

1986   Mullins High School                                             1986   Marion High School

1985   East Clarendon High School                             1985   Marion High School

1984   Johnsonville High School                                   1984   Marion High School

1983   Hannah-Pamplico High School                         1983   Marion High School

   Johnsonville High School

   Johnsonville High School

   Johnsonville High School

1979* Johnsonville High School

1979* Wilson High School                                          * Two tournaments were held

Last Published: February 21, 2007 9:03 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from