University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Faculty Appreciation Night Honorees
    FLORENCE, SC - In an attempt to continue to have Francis Marion University student-athletes and the athletic department connect with university faculty members, and to keep emphasizing the importance of academics to all Patriot student-athletes, FMU held its first Faculty Appreciation Night, Feb. 23, in conjunction with the final home basketball doubleheader.

    All FMU senior student-athletes (in all sports) were asked to choose a faculty member that had contributed greatly to their time at Francis Marion University -- according to certain criteria: mentoring through advising, classroom instruction, and one-on-one instruction; encouraging and assisting students to excel in the classroom through their own dedication, enthusiasm, and love of teaching; acting as a role model through their work ethic and their continuing effort to strive for excellence in their respective fields; taking the extra time and effort to develop a positive relationship with their students by encouraging and showing interest in extracurricular activities within the university and community; and displaying leadership skills and a high standard of ethics.

    Twenty-four faculty members were recognized between games of the women's and men's doubleheader: Bill Whitmire, Russell Ward, Gabriele Theuner, David White, Tim Shannon, Seth Smith, Robert Pugh, Lisa Eargle, Will Wattles, Rebecca Lawson, Mary Dittman, David Franck, Lynn Kostoff, Jon Tuttle, Tim Hanson, Bob Barrett, Ken Autrey, LeRoy Peterson, Meredith Love, Peter King, Alissa Warters, Joe Aniello, Kay Lawrimore, and Jacqueline Jones.



Last Published: March 1, 2005 9:35 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from