University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Non-Profit Leadership Institute graduates fourth class

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Twenty-seven South Carolina residents participated in commencement exercises for the fourth class of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, April 21.

    Remarks were given by Bradley Callicott, executive director of the Drs. Bruce and Lee Foundation, and FMU president Fred Carter. Institute participants were each presented with a certificate.

    The institute is a seven-month training program for leaders of non-profits. Topics included leadership; program development and delivery; human resource development, including board members and volunteers; effective financial resource development and management; programmatic and organizational issues related to data collection and reporting; visibility, including managing external relations; and case studies.

    Funded initially with multi-year grants from the Drs. Bruce and Lee Foundation, the institute now receives major support from FMU, along with a grant from the PSARAS Foundation. 

    Fred Sheheen, former commissioner and executive director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, is director of the FMU Non-Profit Leadership Institute.

    The class will be conducted again during the 2006-2007 academic year. For more information about the institute, contact the FMU Foundation at 843-661-1481. 

Participants in the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University

 (Hometown: Name, Organization)

Bishopville: Sytricia Price, Communities in Schools

Camden: Kimberley Edmond-Jordan, Kershaw County First Steps

Columbia: Mary Pat Baldauf, Keep the Midlands Beautiful Inc.; Andy Pope, Communities in Schools; Shannon Scruggs, S.C. Bar Foundation; Eunika Simons, Communities in Schools – Berkeley County; Carol Wyatt, Sexual Trauma Services of the Midlands

Darlington: Wayne Gates Chapman, Billie Hardee Home for Boys; M.J. Williamson, Pee Dee Land Trust

Dillon: Dean Page, Successful Afterschool Sites Inc.

Florence: Cub S. Berrian, The REALTOR Association of the Greater Pee Dee; Decar Brown, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee Area; Derek Brown, HopeHealth Inc., John T. DeLung Jr., Windy Hill Volunteer Fire Department, Tami R. Glasco, New Life Rescue Ministries

Greenville: Ann Griffith, Upstate Area Health Education Center, Caroline Robertson, Safe Harbor Inc.

Greenwood: Jason L. Williams, Upper Savannah Care Consortium

Hartsville: Judi G. Elvington, Hartsville Downtown Development Association, Terri Pignone, Black Creek Arts Council, Ron G. Skipper, Darlington County Habitat For Humanity

Hilton Head Island: Maxine Uttal, Heroes on Horseback

Marion: JoAnne Pike, National Autism Association

Mount Pleasant: Patricia Goss, United Methodist Relief Center

Myrtle Beach: Jonathan Kresken, Waccamaw Community Foundation

Pawleys Island: Lynne B. Ford, Service Over Self Inc.

Saluda: Sharon Lone, Communities in Schools of Saluda County

#181 / 4-26-06
Last Published: February 14, 2007 9:31 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from