University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU Alumni Association names four members to board

            FLORENCE, S.C. – The Francis Marion University Alumni Association has named four new members to its Alumni Board of Directors.

            New members are Darryl Burns, Jeremy Groom, Johnny “Brent” Tiller, and Rachel Turner.

            Burns is a 2005 political science graduate. He is a magistrate in Marion County and a member of the South Carolina Judges Association. Burns resides in Marion with his son Khyle.

            Groom, of Florence, is a two-time graduate of FMU. He received a management degree in 1998 and an M.B.A. in 2000. He is employed with First Reliance Bank in Florence as a vice president, business banker. Groom is active in the Lion’s Club and First Baptist Church in Florence.

            Tiller graduated in 2000 with a B.B.A. degree in marketing. He is a partner and sales representative with Pinnacle Network Solutions. Tiller is a member of the Kiwanis Club. He is married to DeAnn Weatherly, a 1999 FMU graduate. They reside in Florence.

            Turner graduated with a B.S. degree in biology in 2000. She was recently appointed the director of marketing and public relations for McLeod Health in Dillon. She is a member of the Junior League of Florence and lives in Florence.

            “I am delighted to welcome our four new directors to the board. Each of them brings unique experiences, knowledge and talents to the table and I am looking forward to working with them to offer exceptional alumni activities, events, and programs,” said Brandie Hayes, FMU’s director of alumni affairs. “The FMU Alumni Association could not operate without the support and participation of our alumni and this group’s extra effort and time commitment is allowing our office to reunite and reconnect with our 15,000-plus graduates.”

            Nine members have rotated off the board. They are: Robert “Bob” Barnett, Craig Dooley, Dr. Edwin Gandy, Rainey Laliberte, Cathy Lee (immediate past president), Ellen Oakman-Black, Melvin Poole, Johnny Stoupenos, and Leigh Anne Watford.

            The purpose of the FMU Alumni Association is to generate and channel support, financial and otherwise, to the university from alumni through a variety of activities, correspondence and publications.

            The association serves as a liaison among graduates, the Alumni Office, and the university community. The association is guided by a governing body – the Alumni Board of Directors. Executive officers are Julian Young, president; Stephen Jones, vice president; and Tracy Freeman, secretary.

            For more information about the FMU Alumni Association, contact Hayes at 843-661-1228 or

#11 / 8-3-06
Last Published: January 3, 2007 3:40 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from