University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU announces tenure and promotion of faculty

            FLORENCE, S.C. – Officials at Francis Marion University have announced tenure and promotion of faculty members for the 2006-07 academic year.

            Receiving promotions to professor are: Lawrence P. Anderson, chair, Department of Fine Arts; Joyce M. Durant, library; Lynn Hanson, English; Peter D. King, biology; and Gerald W. Long, biology.

            Receiving promotions to associate professor are: Wendy Caldwell, Spanish; Gregory G. Fry, art and graphic design; Lisa A. Pike, biology; and Russell E. Ward Jr., sociology.

            Earning tenure are: Caldwell; Fry; Brad R. Johnson, accounting; Tammy H. Pawloski, education; Cynthia A. Price, library; and Ward.

            Several faculty members were also recently recognized for length of state service. Recognized for 30 years of state service were: Stanford E. Bergstrom, Spanish; Lloyd B.B. Hutchings, education; Roger K. Hux, library; and Susannah McCuaig, education.

            Recognized for 20 years of state service were: A. Glen Gourley Jr., theatre arts and speech; Dorothy M. Harris, education; Lynn B. Kostoff, English; Mary H. McNulty, English; Charlene Wages, psychology; and Kenneth B. Williams, chemistry.

            Recognized for 10 years of service were: Gary D. Coker, computer science; Rebecca H. Flannagan, English; Allen E. Smith, management information systems; and William P. Wattles, psychology.

#23 / 8-23-06
Last Published: January 3, 2007 3:29 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from