CAMPUS POLICE

The FMU Campus Police Department is committed to providing a safe and secure campus environment for our students, faculty, staff, and visitors. Our mission is to provide police protection to the campus community and foster an atmosphere that enhances the campus learning experience while complementing the University's educational mission.

Reporting a Crime

To talk to an officer, to report a crime in progress or to report suspicious behavior, call Campus Police at 843-661-1109; or call 911

Silent Witness

FMU’s “Silent Witness” program allows members of the campus community to provide Campus Police with information regarding crimes and law enforcement issues on campus, while remaining anonymous. Using Silent Witness is easy. Simply fill out the form below, then push the send button to send it to the Campus Police. No record of the sender is included if the sender does not wish it to be. Information obtained via Silent Witness will be shared with individuals who are necessary to the investigation of the case. No one else will see it.

Silent Witness Form




Campus Crime and Incident Data

Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act; Annual Fire Safety Report

The Clery Act is intended to provide both current campus community members and potential community members with information regarding criminal events reported on or near the FMU campus. This information is furnished in compliance with the Jeanne Clery Act (formerly known as the Student Right-to-Know and Campus Security Act of 1990).

This document is intended to inform both current campus community members and potential community members of information you can use to stay safe on and around campus and make informed decisions. Last updated 9/22/2016

Recent Crime Log

The Francis Marion University community is kept aware of reported incidents on-campus through a Police Open Crime Log. This easily understood daily crime log records, by the date the crime was reported, any crime that occurred within our Clery Geography and that is reported to the Francis Marion University Police Department. This log includes the nature, date, time, and general location of each crime and the disposition of the complaint, if known. Entries or additions to an entry to the log are made within two business days of the report of the information to the university police department, unless that disclosure is prohibited by law or would jeopardize the confidentiality of the victim.

The institution may withhold information required under this section if there is clear and convincing evidence the release of the information would jeopardize an ongoing criminal investigation, the safety of an individual, cause a suspect to flee or evade detection, or result in the destruction of evidence.

Those wishing to view a hard copy of the most current information may view the crime log for the most recent 60 day period during normal business hours, which are normally Monday through Friday, 8:30am until 5:00pm. Portions of the log beyond 60 days, if not immediately available, will normally be made accessible within two business days of a request for public inspection. The log is open for review by anyone; however, it will not leave the premises. Notes may be taken of entry information.

Your Campus Police

Donald Tarbell

Chief of Campus Police

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
dtarbell@fmarion.edu

Terry N. McAllister

Investigator Sergeant Police

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1107
tmcallister@fmarion.edu

Christopher Moore

Police Sergeant

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
cmoore@fmarion.edu

Kipp Britt

Police Sergeant

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
kbritt@fmarion.edu

Tracey Tolson

Police Sergeant

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
ttolson@fmarion.edu

H. Richard Thomas, Jr.

Police Officer, 1st Class

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
hthomas@fmarion.edu

Leonza R. Carter

Police Officer

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
lrcarter@fmarion.edu

Daniel Carmichael

Police Officer

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
dcarmichael@fmarion.edu

Amber Bennett

Police Officer

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
abennett@fmarion.edu

Sarah McCallum

Police Officer

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
smccallum@fmarion.edu

Shannon Mixon

Police Officer

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
Smixon@fmarion.edu

Matthew Wentzel

Police Officer

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
mwentzel@fmarion.edu

Justina Jones

Senior Administrative Associate - Dispatcher

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
justinajones@fmarion.edu

Cristal Robbins

Communications Specialist - Dispatcher

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
crobbins@fmarion.edu

Juanita Cooper

Administrative Associate - Campus Police Dispatcher

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
jcooper@fmarion.edu

Christine Wise

Administrative Associate - Campus Police Dispatcher

Office: FM/CP
Phone: 843-661-1109
cwise@fmarion.edu