Dr. Charlene Wages, Vice President for Administration

Dr. H. Randall Dozier called the meeting to order at 11:30 am. He then asked Mrs. Ashley Jacobs to call the roll. Dr. Dozier noted for the record that media notification had been made in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, and that a quorum was present.

Dr. Dozier presented the minutes of the March 2, 2012 Board Meeting to the Board for approval. Mrs. Gail Richardson made a motion for the minutes to be approved. The motion was seconded by Mr. Tracy Freeman. The minutes received unanimous approval by the Board.

Executive Affairs Committee:

Dr. Dozier noted that the Executive Committee met but no action was taken.

Academic Affairs and Accreditation Committee:

Mrs. Gail Richardson began by reporting that Trustee Gunn represented the Board in Ecuador at the dedication of the Wildsumaco biology field research station. She stated that Professor Travis Knowles of the Department of Biology had arranged a partnership between FMU and UNC – Wilmington. This partnership made possible the Wildsumaco research station in Ecuador that will be used by the FMU students and faculty. Mrs. Richardson then introduced the new Faculty Chair, Dr. Rebecca Flannagan. Next, she reported that three new McNair Scholars have been chosen and will enroll as new freshmen during Fall 2012. She noted that the McNair Scholarship is the highest scholarship given at FMU. McNair Scholars receive full tuition and the opportunity to study abroad. She also reported that there are 14 Patriot scholars this year and she noted that last year there were only 4.

Mrs. Richardson observed that there are nine programs that have re-accreditation cycles, and the School of Education's NCATE re-accreditation will take place during Fall 2012. She also announced that Dr. Polly Haselden of the School of Education won the CHE's statewide Service Learning Award.

Lastly, Mrs. Richardson presented Resolution 04-12, "Resolution for the Approving a Revised Mission Statement for Francis Marion University." Dr. Dozier moved approval of Resolution 04-12. The motion was seconded by Mr. Tracy Freeman. The Resolution received unanimous approval by the Board.

<u>Development and Alumni Committee:</u>

Mr. Tracy Freeman reported that the NPLI completed its tenth year of operation in April of 2012. The annual alumni workshop was held in March 2012 and the feedback was that it was timely information. He announced that the Rural Leadership Institute completed its first year in May, 2012. Graduates represented the following counties: Chesterfield, Clarendon, Lee, Sumter, Marlboro, and Williamsburg. He noted that the groups are now working on projects that were defined by each community.

Mr. Tracy Freeman also reported that the FMU Foundation met on May 26, 2012. The Board welcomed Mr. Rob Berger to fulfill the slot vacated by Mr. Jim O'Loughlin. The Executive Committee Officers are as follows:

Buddy Brand, Chairman

Toy Nettles, Vice Chairman

Jane Huggins, Secretary/Treasurer.

Next, Mr. Freeman reported that the Francis Marion University Foundation Invitational Golf Tournament was held on March 9, 2012 at the Country Club of South Carolina and was successful. Then, he gave a Konduros Fisherman Fund update. The Konduros Fishermen Fund sponsored holiday events for the Pee Dee and Columbia area. The organizations that received holiday grants were: Lighthouse Ministries, Cumberland United Methodist Church, Door of Hope Christian Church, Greater Faith World Outreach, Midlands Housing Alliance and Francis Marion University. Mr. Freeman then reported that during the fall grant cycle, the Konduros Fishermen Fund supported the Rachel Hodges Leadership Institute which is an American Red Cross program and the Durant Children's Center which is a Pee Dee Coalition program,. During the spring grant cycle, the Konduros Fishermen Fund sponsored the Jubilee Academy in Columbia, SC.

Alumni Affairs Report:

Mr. Tracy Freeman reported that in March 2012, members of the Student Alumni Association were involved with other organizations on campus to participate in social awareness programs such as the Great American Cleanup sponsored by local affiliate Keep Florence Beautiful, Adopt-a-Street on Freedom Boulevard, and the Arts International Festival. He then reported that in April 2012, the SAA Pinning Ceremony and the election of officers for academic year 2012-2013 was held in Lowrimore Auditorium followed by a reception. Three members received the "Pride of the Patriot" award at Student Awards Day. The "Pride of the Patriot" recipients were Julia Nwanegwo, Cody Simpson, and Kerry Smith. The SAA Member of the Year Award was presented to Ms. Tiara King. Mr. Freeman then announced that commencement was on May 5, 2012 followed by a reception in The Cottage for graduates and their guests. Also, in June 2012 the Alumni Association Board of Directors meeting was held in The Cottage. During the June 2012 Freshmen Orientation, the SAA sponsored an ice cream social in the University Center.

Mr. Freeman then updated the Board about the Alumni Association Board of Directors. The Alumni Association Board of Directors Executive Committee met in early June 2012 and the Alumni Association Board of Directors will have its final meeting of the academic year later in June. They will celebrate members who have served their three year terms and elect a slate of new members whose terms begin in September 2012. Members finishing their terms include: Mr. Darrell Conner, Mrs. Rachel Gainey, Mr. Jeremy Groom, Mr. Matthew Reich, and immediate past-president, Mr. Paul Seward, Mr. Richard Warrin will finish his first three year term but agreed to serve another full term. Officers for the academic year 2012-13 are as follows: