## **BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR FRANCIS MARION UNIVERSITY**

Francis Marion University Ervin Dining Hall, Hendrick Room

Thursday, June 22, 2017 – 3:00 pm – 3:35 pm

<u>Presiding:</u> Mr. Kenneth W. Jackson, Chairman Present: Mr. Jody Bryson Mr. William W. Coleman, Jr. Dr. H. Randall Dozier Mr. Benjamin I. Duncan, II Mr. L. Franklin Elmore Mr. R. Tracy Freeman Mr. William Edward Gunn Mrs. Patricia C. Hartung Mr. Stephen N. Jones Mr. Floyd L. Keels Ms. Karen A. Leatherman Mr. Robert E. Lee Mr. George C. McIntyre Mr. Mark S. Moore

Others Present:

Dr. Shirley Bausmith, Dean of the School of Education and Professor of Education

Mr. Darryl Bridges, Vice President for Development/Executive Director of the Foundation

Dr. L. Fred Carter, President

Ms. Rebecca Cross, Morning News

Mrs. Kim Davis, Executive Assistant to the President

Mr. Daniel Dukes, Legislative Liaison

Mrs. Joyce Durant, Dean of the Library

Mr. Jonathan P. Edwards, General Counsel

Mr. Larry Falck, Media Production and Web Design Coordinator

Dr. Rebecca Flannagan, Chair of the Faculty and Professor of English

Dr. Karen Fries, Secretary of the Faculty and Assistant Professor of Education

Mr. A. Glen Gourley, Vice Chair of the Faculty and Professor of Theatre Arts and Speech – Directing

Mr. Murray G. Hartzler, Director of Athletics

Dr. Christopher M. Kennedy, Associate Provost and Director of Graduate Programs

Dr. Peter King, Provost

Mr. Jay Kispert, Vice President for Business Affairs

Dr. Jennifer Kunka, Associate Provost for Advising and Professor of English

Mr. Matthew J. McColl, Director of Communications

Dr. Tracy Meetze-Holcombe, Associate Dean of the School of Education and Professor of Education

Mr. Tucker Mitchell, Executive Director of Public Affairs

Ms. Freddricka Pressley, SGA President

Mrs. Teresa J. Ramey, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Ms. Julie D. Thomas, Interim Program Director of Physician Assistant Studies and Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies

Dr. Charlene Wages, Vice President for Administration

Dr. Alissa Warters, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Enrollment Management

Mr. R. Thomas Welch, Assistant Vice President of Financial Services

Dr. Ruth Wittmann-Price, Dean of the School of Health Sciences and Professor of Nursing

Mr. Julian M. Young, Director of Alumni Affairs and Annual Giving

## Facilities:

• Resolution 05-17 for Approval of the 2017 Campus Development Master Plan was presented to the board, which comes from the committee with unanimous approval. Mr. Jones made a motion for the resolution to be approved, and Mr. McIntyre seconded the motion. The resolution received unanimous approval by the board.

Mr. Jones concluded his report.

## Student Affairs and Athletics Committee:

Mr. Bryson presented the following information reported to the committee:

Student Affairs:

- Student Affairs participated in Gender Week (March 27-31), which included programs such as the Men of Character Panel Discussion and the Women of Strength event.
- The Annual Student Leadership Conference was a success with approximately 63 students attending.
- The University Programming board sponsored three alcohol education events which included a Mocktail Party, an Alcohol Awareness Panel, and a DUI Simulator Event.
- The Student Life Awards was held on April 18. There were ten students receiving the Pride of the Patriot Award, one of which was SGA President Freddricka Pressley. Also, Rose Williams, a senior nursing student, received the Leadership Legacy Award.
- In September 2016, the Student Government Association began providing color printing services to student organizations on campus. Since that time, they have printed program announcements for more than forty different student organizations.
- The SGA partnered with the Rogers Library to provide refreshments for students studying in the library during the extended hours for the spring semester final exam period. The SGA also gave helpful study tips to each student participating.
- On March 10, the SGA took sixteen students to Washington D. C. for a three-day, twonight educational leadership tour. They visited SC delegates within the US Congress, toured the Capitol building, visited monuments, and explored cultural venues such as the African American History and Culture Museum, the Holocaust Museum, and the John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center.
- The newly elected Student Government Association Officers for the 2017-18 academic year are:

President: Marcedes Smith Vice-President: Glennie Tanner Secretary: Brittany Greene Treasurer: Deja McClain

• New Freshman Move-in is scheduled for August 19.