P. Professional Development

- 1. *Membership*. The committee shall consist of nine members, one elected by the voting faculty of the University from each of the following categories for three-year terms:
 - a. Humanities
 - b. Science and Mathematics
 - c. Social Sciences and Psychology
 - d. Fine Arts and Mass Communication
 - e. School of Business
 - f. School of Education
 - g. School of Health Sciences
 - h. Library
 - i. At-large
- 2. *Responsibilities*. The committee shall make recommendations to the Provost concerning:
 - a. The distribution of funds to the faculty in a way that will provide opportunities for professional development such as awarding sabbaticals, reassigned time, travel grants, and research funds;
 - b. The establishment of policies guiding the preceding awards.

Section 4. Ad Hoc Committees

The Chair of the Faculty Senate shall have the power to appoint *ad hoc* committees, whose membership shall consist of full-time members of the faculty and others as necessary. The Chair of the Faculty Senate shall appoint the chair of an *ad hoc* committee. *Ad hoc* committees shall make their reports to the Faculty Senate.

ARTICLE V. INSTITUTIONAL FINANCIAL AND CLERICAL SUPPORT

Adequate supplies, equipment, and clerical support shall be provided for the Faculty Senate to carry out its duties. Each year the Executive Committee, through the Chair of the Faculty Senate, shall submit a budget request to the President. A line item for Faculty Senate expenses shall be included in the annual budget of the University.