Wampee Conference Center
Pinopolis, South Carolina
Friday, August 3, 2007 – 11:07 am –11:45pm

Mr. George C. McIntyre, Chairman

Mrs. Teresa C. Anderson
Mr. James A. Brown, Jr. (by phone)
Mr. William W. Coleman, Jr.
Dr. H. Randall Dozier
Mr. L. Franklin Elmore (by phone)
Mr. Edward S. Ervin, III, Member Emeritus
Mr. Kenneth W. Jackson
Mr. Robert E. Lee
Mrs. Gail Ness Richardson
Mrs. Carolyn Beasley Shortt
Mr. W. C. Stanton

Others Present:
Dr. Kenneth M. Autrey, Chair of the Faculty
Mrs. Shireese Bell, Morning News
Mr. D. Keith Best, Professor of Theatre Arts – Acting
Mr. Darryl L. Bridges, Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. L. Fred Carter, President
Dr. Richard Chapman, Provost
Mrs. Elizabeth I. Cooper, Director of Community Relations
Mrs. Kimberly G. Davis, Assistant Director of Institutional Research & Human Resources Assistant
Mr. Jay Dowd, Vice President for Development/Executive Director of FMU Foundation
Mr. Daniel Dukes, Legislative Liaison
Dr. Rebecca H. Flannagan, Associate Professor of English
Mrs. Rachel R. Hamaie, Executive Assistant to the President
Mr. Murray G. Hartzler, Director of Athletics
Mr. Jay Kispert, Vice President for Business Affairs
Mr. Robert E. Merritt, University Attorney
Dr. Duane P. Myers, Director of International Studies
Dr. Jeannette M. Myers, Director of the Planetarium
Dr. Charlene Wages, Vice President for Administration


Mr. George McIntyre called the meeting to order at 11:07 am. He then asked Mrs. Rachel Hamaie to call the roll. Mr. McIntyre then noted for the record that media notification had been made in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, and a quorum was present.

Mr. McIntyre presented the minutes of the June 1, 2007 Board Meeting to the Board for approval. Mr. William Coleman made a motion for the minutes to be approved. The motion was seconded by Mr. Robert Lee. The minutes received unanimous approval by the Board.

Pending Resolutions:

Mr. McIntyre then directed the Board to Resolution 05-07 for the naming of  The Dr. Richard N. Chapman Auditorium in the McNair Science Building, which had been presented at the June 1, 2007 Board Meeting in  accordance with the Board naming policy. Mr. McIntyre then read the resolution aloud. Mr. Kenneth Jackson made a motion to approve the resolution. Mrs. Teresa Anderson seconded the motion. The resolution received unanimous approval by the Board.

President’s Report:

Dr. Fred Carter began by announcing to the Board that the dedication of the Richard N. Chapman auditorium will occur on Monday, August 20, 2007 at 5:00 p.m. followed by a cookout for faculty and staff at The Cottage. He invited the Board to attend this dedication.

Dr. Carter then thanked the Board, faculty, and staff for coming to Wampee for the annual retreat and concluded by underscoring the importance of the event in highlighting future plans of the University.

Unfinished Business:

No unfinished business.

New Business:

Mr. McIntyre then presented a plaque to Mr. Jackson thanking him for his service as Board Chair for the two previous years. Mr. Jackson accepted graciously saying that it had been an honor to work with the Board, the faculty, and the staff of FMU who feel like family to him.

Mr. McIntyre then reminded the Board of the future dates of the Francis Marion University Board of Trustees Meetings, which are:

November 9, 2007
February 1, 2008
June 6, 2008

Dr. Carter then reminded the Board that the Pee Dee Fiction Festival will coincide with the November Board Meeting. The Board will be invited to attend Festival events the night before the meeting and the afternoon following the meeting. He then asked Dr. Ken Autrey to brief the Board on the authors participating in the event.

Dr. Autrey identified four authors participating in the 2007 Pee Dee Fiction Festival: Tobias Wolfe, author of  “ This Boys Life”, Naomi Shihab Nye, a poet and novelist, Terrance Hayes, a poet, and Sheron McCrumb, a mystery novelist.

Executive Session:

Mr. McIntyre then requested an executive session. Mrs. Gail Richardson made a motion to go into executive session. Mrs. Carolyn Shortt seconded this motion. The motion received unanimous approval from the Board.

Mr. Jackson made a motion to return to open session. Mrs. Shortt seconded this motion.  Mr. Coleman then made a motion to extend the contract of Dr. Carter for ten years from the date of today’s Board Meeting. Mrs. Richardson seconded this motion. The motion received unanimous approval by the Board.

Mr. Coleman made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Jackson seconded this motion. The Board adjourned at 11:45 a.m.


Respectfully Submitted,
Carolyn Beasley Shortt