to low incidence disabled students through Project SHARE. For more information, contact the Pee Dee Education Center at 843-669-3391.

The University offers programs and services in continuing education, technical and professional assistance, industrial and economic development, and artistic and cultural enrichment to the community. Many cultural activities (concerts, lectures, plays, art exhibits, planetarium and observatory shows, and film series) are offered free to the public.

The University has an outstanding NCAA athletic program with seven sports each for men and women. The University's school colors are red, white, and blue, and the mascot is a Patriot.

HISTORY

Francis Marion College, now university, was officially established on July 1, 1970. The University is named in honor of a Revolutionary War hero, General Francis Marion, the legendary "Swamp Fox" who kept the patriot cause alive in South Carolina with his guerilla-style fighting in the Pee Dee and Low Country regions of the state. FMU's athletic teams are nicknamed the Patriots.

The University traces its history to 1957 when the University of South Carolina established a "freshman center" at the Florence County Library. In 1961, a permanent campus for USC-Florence was established six miles east of Florence on land donated by the Wallace family, the current location of FMU. By 1966, enrollment at USC-F had reached 350 and community leaders began a movement to establish a four-year institution to better meet the educational needs of the region.

Following a Commission on Higher Education recommendation, FMU was authorized as a state-assisted institution of higher learning by the State of South Carolina on June 25, 1969. Gov. Robert E. McNair signed into law an act creating Francis Marion College, effective July 1, 1970.

The College began its first academic term when students from 23 of South Carolina's 46 counties gathered on August 31, 1970, for the first fall convocation and orientation. A total of 907 students subsequently enrolled in programs offered through the College's initial 10 departments.

During its first year, the College embarked on a building program which saw occupancy of the James A. Rogers Library in 1971, the Robert E. McNair Science Building in 1972, the Walter Douglas Smith University Center and Founders Hall in 1974, the John K. Cauthen Educational Media Center in 1977, the Peter D. Hyman Fine Arts Center and the Village (student apartments) in 1980, three residence halls and the Edward S. Ervin Dining Hall in 1986, the Thomas C. Stanton Academic Computer Center and the Reames Wing to Rogers Library in 1988, an addition to the J. Howard Stokes Administration Building in 1990, three more residence halls and the Allard A. Allston Housing Office Complex in 1992, the Hugh K. Leatherman Sr. Science Facility in 1994, the BB&T/Amelia Wallace Alumni/Faculty House in 2003, the Forest Villas apartment complex in 2004 and 2007, and the Frank B. Lee Nursing Building and The Grille in 2006. In 2007, the FMU Education Foundation purchased the FMU Education and Non-Profit Consortium Building. In 2008, the Gail and Terry Richardson Center for the Child was completed. The FMU Performing Arts Center in downtown Florence was completed in 2011, and the Griffin Athletic Complex opened in Spring 2012.

Francis Marion College became Francis Marion University in 1992, following the addition of graduate degree programs.

The institution has had four presidents: Dr. Walter Douglas Smith (1969 to 1983), Dr. Thomas C. Stanton (1983 to 1994), Dr. Lee A. Vickers (1994 to 1999), and Dr. Luther F. Carter (1999 to present).

Today, Francis Marion University's academic program consists of a College of Liberal Arts, a School of Business, School of Education, and a School of Health Sciences. The University offers more than 40 programs

of study, as well as a variety of cooperative and pre-professional programs. The University employs 292 full-time and part-time faculty members and about 296 staff.

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

The University is governed by a 17-member Board of Trustees. The trustees serve four-year terms and are elected by the South Carolina General Assembly with some appointments made by the state's governor. The University is committed to shared governance among the Board of Trustees, the faculty, and the administration. The faculty elects its own officers and committees.

The chief administrative officer of the University is the president. The University is organized along the following administrative divisions: Academic Affairs, Administration, Business Affairs, Development, Public Affairs, Student Affairs, University Outreach, and Intercollegiate Athletics.

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS – The division of Academic Affairs includes all academic departments within the University, organized into a College of Liberal Arts and three professional schools, the School of Business, the School of Education, and the School of Health Sciences. Other functions within this division include Enrollment Management (Admissions, Financial Assistance, Orientation, Provisional Programs, and Registrar), the Library, the Graduate Programs, Performing Arts Center, and Richardson Center for the Child.

ADMINISTRATION – The division of Administration is responsible for Human Resources, Campus Technology, Institutional Research, Planning, Institutional Effectiveness, Instructional Technology, Telecommunications and Asset Management, and Counseling and Testing.

BUSINESS AFFAIRS – The division of Business Affairs is responsible for the University's Business Operation, Accounting for all Revenues and Expenditures, maintaining the University's Facilities, Campus Police, Dining Services, Housing, Purchasing, and the Patriot Bookstore.

DEVELOPMENT – The Development division is responsible for coordination of University efforts to secure financial support from the private sector and to serve as the receiving point for gifts of dollars, securities, works of art, land, and equipment. This is done primarily through the Francis Marion University Foundation, the Alumni Association, the FMU Fund, and the Swamp Fox Club. Through these organizations, the various avenues of supporting the University are made known to individuals, corporations, and philanthropic foundations. For more information, call 843-661-1295 or visit www.fmarion.edu.

The Alumni Affairs Office – The Director of Alumni Affairs coordinates activities of the Alumni Association and implements objectives, goals, and policies of the Alumni Association Board of Directors. The Alumni Association serves as the liaison among graduates, the Alumni Office, and the University community.

FMU Foundation – The FMU Foundation was organized in 1974 to provide a means for seeking and accepting substantial gifts of money or property in order to build an endowment fund that would promote the educational purpose and overall mission of the University. The FMU Foundation is governed by an independent volunteer board of directors and currently has more than \$27 million in assets.

FM Annual Fund – Since the early years of the institution, friends, alumni, faculty, staff, businesses, and industries have provided the opportunity for bright young scholars to obtain a college education. Through annual contributions, the FM Fund is able to support various scholarship programs and educational initiatives such as instructional technology, library acquisitions, and faculty development. Annual giving helps meet the ever-increasing need for financial support for the University.