attention of the Faculty Chair, at which point replacement of the individual will be considered.

Section 3. Standing Committees

A. Academic Affairs

- 1. *Membership*. The committee shall consist of fourteen tenured faculty members and the Registrar, who shall serve without vote. The faculty members shall be elected as follows:
 - a. six elected from and by the faculty of the University
 - b. one from each School or College elected by the faculty of the University
 - c. one from each School or College elected by the faculty of the respective School or College

Each elected member shall be elected for a three-year term and may not serve more than two consecutive complete terms. A quorum shall consist of ten voting members.

2. Responsibilities. The committee shall:

- a. advise the Faculty Senate on all undergraduate curriculum matters, including proposed courses, course changes, or new academic programs, being responsible in particular for checking all such proposed courses, changes, or new programs for accuracy, numbering courses, prerequisites, issues of redundancy or overlap with existing courses, and related matters taking in account the impact of curricular proposals on other disciplines and the university as a whole;
- b. review guidelines and make recommendations when appropriate for the general education program requirements for the various degree programs of the University.

B. Academic Freedom and Tenure Grievance

1. Membership. The committee shall consist of six tenured members elected from the faculty for three-year terms. Academic administrators including deans, department chairs, and the dean of the Library may not serve. No member of the Academic Freedom and Tenure Grievance Committee shall serve concurrently on the Faculty Grievance Committee, the Mediation Committee, or a School/College-wide or University-wide tenure and promotion committee.

2. *Responsibilities*. The committee shall:

a. recommend changes in policies and procedures concerning academic freedom and tenure;