MINUTES Faculty Senate Meeting April 19, 2005 – 3:45pm

I. Chair Autrey called the meeting to order at 3:46pm. Senators present included Allen, Anderson, Autrey, Best, Clabo, Coker, Flannagan, Gourley, Jokisch, Long, Price, Ramey, Renneker, Rooks, Sacash, White, and Whitmire. Senators Cowles, de Montluzin, Holsenback, Hunter, McCuaig, Myers, Pawloski, and Smith were absent.

II. Elections

Rebecca Flannagan was elected as Secretary of the 2005-2006 Senate.

- D. Keith Best was elected as Vice-Chair of the 2005-2006 Senate.
- III. The Minutes of the meeting of March 29, 2005, were approved as distributed.
- IV. Reports from Committees

Academic Support Committee

Damon Scott gave a brief report on the activity of the committee this past year. He specifically thanked Jennifer Kunka for her help. A summary of the report is available from Damon or the Faculty Secretary.

- V. There was no old business.
- VI. There was no new business.

VII. Announcements

- A. Ben Kyer's mother passed away. The memorial service was on April 18. Anyone wishing to contribute to a memorial should speak to Ken Autrey.
- B. The Professional Development Committee has received additional funding. The last meeting will be held on April 25.
- C. The Distinguished Professor dinner will be on Thursday, April 21.
- D. Snow Island Review reading will be on Wednesday, April 20.
- E. Cut-Time and the Wind Symphony have upcoming concerts.
- F. The Chair recognized these retiring faculty senators: Bucky Allen, Lorraine de Montluzin, Ed Holsenback, Laurie Sullivan-Hunter, and Gerald Long.
- VIII. The meeting was adjourned at 3:59pm.