FACULTY ORGANIZATION

Academic Divisions

The academic units of the University consist of the Francis Marion College of Liberal Arts, the School of Business, the School of Education, and the School of Health Sciences. The academic departments include the Departments of Biology; Chemistry; English, Modern Languages, and Philosophy; Fine Arts; History; Mass Communication and Speech; Mathematics; Physics and Astronomy; Political Science and Geography; Psychology; and Sociology; academic sub-units within the School of Business (Business Administration, Economics, and Computer Science); academic sub-units within the School of Education, and Secondary Education); academic sub-units within the School of Health Sciences (Nursing, Physician Assistant, and Healthcare Administration); and the Library. The Provost is the chief academic officer.

Faculty Administrative Staff

Department chairs and school deans are generally responsible for the activities of their departments and schools, for which they are accountable to the Provost. Their primary responsibility is supervising the teaching, research, and professional service of their faculty. Department chairs and school deans represent their departments and schools in relations with other departments and schools and with other administrative officers of the University. In exercising leadership in the improvement of programs and faculty, a chair or dean is expected to take the initiative to report that unit's needs and advocate its goals and plans.

A department chair's and school dean's specific functions include the following: recommending the approval of departmental policies and procedures involving peer evaluations; recommending faculty appointment, reappointment, tenure, promotion, termination, and dismissal; interviewing prospective faculty; monitoring departmental implementation of Affirmative Action policies and procedures; annually evaluating each member of the department's faculty and staff; developing and monitoring departmental budgets; supervising the department's program of instruction, including scheduling, faculty workload, and departmental research and professional service; ensuring that students' rights are preserved; supervising the advising of departmental majors and graduate and undergraduate students; monitoring student evaluation of instruction, courses, and programs within the department; supervising summer-school programs; approving applications for professional travel and sabbatical leave; arranging meetings of the departmental faculty; meeting with the departmental committees; and teaching two to three classes each semester.

Membership of the Faculty

The University faculty shall consist of the President, the Provost, the deans and other academic officers, including librarians, the department chairs, and all other persons who are appointed to a full-time instructional, research, public service, or administrative position with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, or instructor. In addition, all persons appointed to an instructional position on a part-time basis with faculty rank are considered members of the faculty and may attend meetings of the faculty.

Voting Faculty Members

The voting faculty shall consist of full-time tenured, probationary (i.e., tenure-track), and temporary faculty who normally teach at least two courses that total a minimum of six credit hours or nine contact hours per semester. These faculty are in coded and slotted (FTE) positions and are eligible for state-funded benefits. Department chairs are voting members of the faculty. All full-time librarians hold academic rank and are voting members of the faculty. All faculty who had voting privileges at the time of the ratification of the 2001 Constitution shall retain them for the duration of their continuous employment in their present position. Furthermore, all faculty who (1) had voting privileges as of April 1997, (2) have retained faculty status, and (3) at the time of the ratification of the z001 Constitution as of 1997 shall retain voting privileges for the duration of their continuous employment in the same position as of 1997 shall retain

Graduate School Faculty

All full-time and part-time faculty teaching graduate courses normally hold the highest earned degree in their disciplines and must have exhibited excellence in instruction and in scholarly and professional activities. The graduate courses which they teach must be in the fields of their respective expertise.

Membership in the graduate faculty is extended on a *continuing* basis to academic administrators and to those holding the rank of full professor. Membership may also be extended on an *annual* basis to faculty members at any rank who have not been designated as continuing members but who teach at least one course numbered 500 or above during the academic year. Credentials of both annual and continuing graduate faculty are evaluated annually by department chairs and school deans.