African American Faculty and Staff Coalition

Together We Can

Putting truth into action

Dr. Joseph E. Heyward, former provost, and Dr. Lee A. Vickers, former president of Francis Marion University, signed the charter agreement that established the FMU African American Faculty and Staff Coalition on February 24, 1995. Our purpose is to stimulate and enhance cultural awareness, to promote professional development and welfare among faculty, staff, and students.

Our goals include:

  • Increasing morale and communication among members
  • Creating an atmosphere of community for FMU African American faculty, staff, and students
  • Serving as a liaison between the administrative personnel of FMU and the African American faculty and staff
  • Examining the university’s efforts in recruitment and retention of African American faculty and staff, and recognizing we play a vital role in contributing to the educational growth of minority students

Our motto, “Together We Can” puts truth into action.

Save that Date card for 23rd Scholarship reception. February 29 2024















We feel that we have a responsibility to provide guidance, support and financial assistance to qualifying FMU African American students.

With the support and encouragement of President L. Fred Carter, the FMU Administration, our ardent members, and faithful supporters, we are able to award four named scholarships. Given the assistance of generous donors we’ve been able to increase the number of our scholarships.

Recognized AAFSC Scholarships:

  • Dr. Joseph E. Heyward Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. Dorothy M. Harris Graduate Student Scholarship Fund
  • Ms. Rebecca S. Lunn Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. Leroy “Pete” Peterson Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Mrs. Joyce M. Durant African American Studies Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Mrs. Yvonne G. Davis Community Service Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. Alfreda Campbell-Wilson Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Mrs. Linda M. Sullen Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Mr. Carlton Sellers Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Mr. Steven Sims Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Bishop Donald Jackson – Young Gifted and Blessed Scholarship
  • Ms. Yvette Hammonds Pierce Graduate Fellowship

Register to Attend

AAFSC Cultural Conversations Registration

Join the Coalition

The AAFSC is committed to the advancement of our organization through an increase in membership and the encouragement of participation among our current members. We invite you to join us because together, we can:

  • Educate all people about the rich culture, history, and accomplishments of African Americans.
  • Increase morale, fellowship, and communication among our members through special events, educational seminars, and professional development.
  • Initiate opportunities and special projects for African American students that will aid in their development as scholars and future leaders.
  • Commit to the advancement of undergraduate students through scholarship funds.

Annual membership dues are $25.00 and may be paid by check, cash or money order.  Please make payable to “FMU AAFSC”.


AAFSC Diversity Award

The Diversity Award was established in February 2009 to honor a permanent, full-time employee of Francis Marion University who works diligently to promote ethnic understanding and diversity across the FMU campus.  The award recognizes the faculty and staff member’s commitment to diversity at the University and community at large.  This award, which carries a beautiful plaque, is presented at the annual AAFSC Banquet/Gala.The following criteria have been established:

  1. The recipient must be a full-time permanent employee of Francis Marion University
  2. The recipient must have demonstrated exceptional commitment to promoting diversity for a sustained period of time, exercising sound judgment and character in their work. Community service activities will also be considered.
  3. New nominations are required each year. Nominations may be made by any administrative, faculty, or staff member at FMU. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  4. Nominations must meet the established deadline and should be made on the nomination form. Supporting materials, such as campus involvement, service on committees, and community activities should be included with the nomination form.
  5. Nominations will be judged by a committee appointed by the President of the Coalition.
  6. Past winners will not be eligible to receive the award a second time.

Past Winners:

  • 2010 – Dr. Rebecca Lawson
  • 2011 – Dr. Louis Venters
  • 2012 – Ms. Angela Crosland
  • 2013 – Dr. Rhonda M. Brogdon
  • 2014 – Ms. Yvonne Davis
  • 2015 – Mrs. Crystal L. Graham
  • 2016 – Dr. Will Wattles
  • 2017 – Mr. Jason H. Owens
  • 2018 – Dr. Ruth A. Wittmann-Price
  • 2019 – Dr. Shayna A. Wrighten
  • 2020 – Dr. Erica James
  • 2021 – Dr. Dan Brauss
  • 2022 – Ms. Latasha Brand
  • 2023 – Dr. Charlene Wages

Current Officers


Dr. Todd Couch

Associate Professor of Sociology

Office: FH 238
Phone: 843-661-1917

Vice President

Donald Jackson

Accountant - Accounts Payable

Office: SAB 103
Phone: 843-661-1128


Demetra Walker

Demetra T. Walker

Dean of the Library,
Associate Professor

Office: Rogers Library
Phone: 843-661-1300


Linda Sullen


Office: SAB 111
Phone: 843-661-1396


woman smiling

Tamara Law

Assistant Professor Reference/Instruction Librarian

Office: Rogers Library
Phone: 843-661-1302