The University is governed by a 17-member Board of Trustees.  The trustees serve four-year terms and are elected by the South Carolina General Assembly with some appointments made by the state’s governor. The University is committed to shared governance among the Board of Trustees, the faculty, and the administration. The faculty elects its own officers and committees.

The chief administrative officer of the University is the president. The University is organized along the following administrative divisions:

  • Academic Affairs
  • Administration
  • Business Affairs
  • Development
  • Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Public and Community Affairs
  • Student Affairs
  • University Attorney