Political Science

Preparing students for successful careers

The Political Science program offers its majors a broad understanding of political phenomena, including political institutions, political processes, political behavior, and contemporary political issues.

The program provides instruction so as to enable all students to complete as part of their general education requirements an introductory-level course in political science that includes material dealing with the United States Constitution.

The course of study for the major prescribes a set of core courses in the discipline’s traditional subfields of American government, comparative politics, international relations, political philosophy, and political methodology. Students elect the remainder of their primary work from a range of course offerings pertaining to foreign and/or domestic American government and politics. The flexibility of the curriculum permits students to pursue a program of courses tailored to their individual interests and career goals.

Graduates with a major in political science receive the broad training and develop the general competence in the discipline required to equip them for successful careers in journalism, politics, the military, public service, and quasi-public agencies, commerce and industry, teaching, and other occupations for which preparation in the field is desirable, or to undertake postgraduate professional study in political science, public administration, or related areas such as law.

FACULTY & STAFF

Photo of Richard Almeida

Dr. Richard A. Almeida

Associate Professor of Political Science

Office: FH 139
Phone: 843-661-1631
ralmeida@fmarion.edu

Photo of FMU President, Fred Carter

Dr. Fred Carter

President of Francis Marion University
Professor of Political Science

Office: SAB 110
Phone: 843-661-1210
lcarter@fmarion.edu

Photo of Richard Doughty

Richard G. Doughty

Instructor of Political Science and Geography

Office: FH 144
Phone: 843-661-1612
rdoughty@fmarion.edu

Kevin Lasher

Dr. Kevin J. Lasher

Emeritus Faculty of Political Science
Years at FMU: 1993-2022

klasher@fmarion.edu

Dr. Kyle J. Morgan

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Office: FH 133
Phone: 843-661-1615
Kyle.Morgan@fmarion.edu

Lauren Perez

Dr. Lauren K. Perez

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Office: FH 130
Phone: 843-661-1613
Lauren.Perez@fmarion.edu

Photo of Dillon Tatum

Dr. Dillon S. Tatum

Chair, Department of Political Science & Geography
Assistant Professor of Political Science

Office: FH 133
Phone: 843-661-1632
dtatum@fmarion.edu

Photo of Jennifer Titanski-Hooper

Dr. Jennifer Titanski-Hooper

Assistant Professor of Geography
Director of McNair Institute for Research and Service

Office: FH 130
Phone: 843-661-1619
jtitanskihooper@fmarion.edu

Dr. T. Alissa Warters

Vice President for Enrollment Management
Professor of Political Science

Office: SAB 115B
Phone: 843-661-1616
twarters@fmarion.edu

Dr. David R. White

Professor of Political Science
Coordinator of Political Science, Criminal Justice & Pre-Law Programs

Office: FH 129
Phone: 843-661-1614
dwhite@fmarion.edu