The Leadership Team spearheaded the University’s efforts to earn reaffirmation of accreditation and includes the following individuals:


Luther F. Carter, President and Professor of Political Science
Peter D. King, Provost, Dean of the Francis Marion University College of Liberal Arts, and Professor of Biology
Charlene Wages, Vice President for Administration, High K. Leatherman Professor of Public Service, SACSOC Accreditation Liaison, and Professor of Psychology
Cecil H. McManus, Director of Institutional Effectiveness
Russell E. Ward, Jr., Faculty SACSCOC Coordinator and Professor of Sociology


  • Developed a timeline of activities and deadlines from Spring 2016 through Spring 2019
  • Identified content providers for each core requirement, comprehensive standard, or federal regulation
  • Determined reasonable timeliness for content providers to collect data and draft compliance narratives
  • Selected student editors and coordinated with the Accreditation Committee to identify a team of technology experts and external consultants to review narratives written by content providers to ensure consistency in:
    • breadth and depth of supporting evidence
    • narrative style
    • organization
    • format.

Student Editors
Rebekah Davis
Christina Xan

Accreditation Committee
Christopher M. Kennedy, Associate Provost, Director of Graduate Programs, and Professor of History (Chair)
Shirley Carr Bausmith, Dean of School of Education and Professor of Education
D. Keith Best, Chair of Department of Fine Arts and Professor of Theatre Arts – Acting
Deborah L. Hopla, Director of Family Nurse Practitioner Program for MSN Program and Assistant Professor of Nursing
Derek W. Jokisch, Chair of Department of Physics and Astronomy and Professor of Physics
Meredith A. Love-Steinmetz, Co-Director of Center of Excellence for College and Career Readiness and Professor of English
Erik A. Lowry, Coordinator of Elementary and Middle Level Education Programs and Associate Professor of Education
Jonathan G. Munn, Associate Professor of Economics
Susan D. Peters, Director of the Center for Entrepreneurship and Professor of Marketing
Julie D. Thomas, Academic Coordinator Physician Assistant Studies and Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies

Technology Team
John Dixon, Chief Information Officer
Larry Falck, Coordinator of Digital Media
C. Tucker Mitchell, Executive Director of Communications

External Consultants
Robert L. Armacost, Associate Professor Emeritus in the Department of Industrial Engineering and Managerial Systems at the University of Central Florida
Julia Pet-Armacost, Associate Dean Emerita of College of Medicine at the University of Central Florida