Biology Faculty & Staff

Department of Biology

We are here to help

One of the strengths of an education at Francis Marion University is the fact that professors get to know their students, not just as pupils in a classroom, but as friends and colleagues. This enhances the student’s ability to learn and prepares them for success in the next phase of their careers. The key factor that contributes to this personal education is the size and organization of the department. The average enrollment of classes in our department are 50-60 in the introductory freshman classes and less than 40 in most upper-level classes.You can use the information below to find and contact anyone in the Biology Department. If you have any questions about anything, any one of us would be glad to help.

Full-Time Faculty and Staff

Dr. Tamatha R. Barbeau

Professor of Biology,
Coordinator of Veterinary Studies and Pre-Veterinary Programs

Office: LSF 204J
Phone: 843-661-4651
tbarbeau@fmarion.edu

Vernon Bauer

Dr. Vernon W. Bauer

Professor and Chair of Biology

Office: LSF 204C
Phone: 843-661-1409
vbauer@fmarion.edu

Matt Binchik

Mr. Matthew Binchik

Administrative Assistant - Biology

Office: LFS 204
Phone: 843-661-1382
matt.binchik@fmarion.edu

Photo of Jeff Camper

Dr. Jeffrey D. Camper

Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204E
Phone: 843-661-1418
jcamper@fmarion.edu

Jason Doll

Dr. Jason C. Doll

Assistant Professor of Biology
Coordinator of Environmental Science and Environmental Studies Programs

Office: LSF 204I
Phone: 843-661-1481
Jason.Doll@fmarion.edu

Jennifer Floyd

Mrs. Jennifer P. Floyd

Laboratory Manager, Biology

office: LSF 206B
phone: 843-661-1661
JFloyd@fmarion.edu

photo of Nathan Harness

Dr. Nathan C. Harness

Assistant Professor of Biology,
Coordinator of Biology: Secondary Education Program

Office: MSB 219B
Phone: (843) 661-1405
Nathan.harness@fmarion.edu

Beth Jones

Dr. Elizabeth R. Jones

Assistant Professor of Biology,
Coordinator of Pre-Medical Program,

Office: MSB 201F
Phone: 843-661-1899
Elizabeth.Jones@fmarion.edu

Dr. Peter King

Dr. Peter D. King

University Provost
Dean of the Francis Marion College of Liberal Arts
Professor of Biology
James K. Konduros Professor of Leadership

Office: SAB 115
Phone: 843-661-1286
pking@fmarion.edu

Photo of Travis Knowles

Prof. Travis W. Knowles

Associate Professor of Biology
Director of Wildsumaco Biological Field Station
Shirley Malloy Chair in Biology

Office: MSB 201H
Phone: 843-661-1408
tknowles@fmarion.edu

Photo of Gerald Long

Dr. Gerald W. Long

Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204G
Phone: 843-661-1389
glong@fmarion.edu

Photo of Jennifer Lyles

Dr. Jennifer K. Lyles

Associate Professor of Biology
Coordinator of Pre-Physician Assistant Program

Office: MSB 201E
Phone: 843-661-1401
jlyles@fmarion.edu

Prof. Lisa A. Pike

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204D
Phone: 843-661-1411
lpike@fmarion.edu

Photo of Greg Pryor

Dr. Greg S. Pryor

Professor of Biology,
Co-Coordinator of Medical Technology Program

Office: MSB 301D
Phone: 843-661-1403
gpryor@fmarion.edu

Photo of Jeremy Rentsch

Dr. Jeremy D. Rentsch

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204I
Phone: 843-661-1407
jrentsch@fmarion.edu

Ednaliz Rodriguez-Medina

Dr. Ednaliz Rodriguez-Medina

Visiting Professor of Biology

Office: MSB 301A
Phone: 843-661-1627
ednaliz.rodriguez@fmarion.edu

Tim Shannon

Dr. Timothy E. Shannon

Professor of Biology,
Coordinator of Pre-Dental Program

Office: LSF 204H
Phone: 843-661-4652
tshannon@fmarion.edu

Photo of Henry Slone

Dr. J. Henry Slone

Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204B
Phone: 843-661-1406
jslone@fmarion.edu

Photo of Jeffrey Steinmetz

Dr. Jeffrey A. Steinmetz

Professor of Biology,
Director of the Freshwater Ecology Center,

Office: MSB 201A
Phone: 843-661-1404
jsteinmetz@fmarion.edu

Photo of Ann Stoekmann

Dr. Ann M. Stoeckmann

Professor of Biology
University Life Coordinator

Office: MSB 301-I
Phone: 843-661-1388
astoeckmann@fmarion.edu

Photo of Lorraine Turner

Dr. Lorianne S. Turner

Professor of Biology,
James B. Gray Chair of Microbiology,
Coordinator of Pre-Physical/Occupational Therapy Program,
Co-coordinator of Medical Technology Program

Office: MSB 201C
Phone: 843-661-1670
lturner@fmarion.edu

Photo of Shayna Wrighten

Dr. Shayna A. Wrighten

Associate Professor of Biology,
Coordinator of African & African American Studies Program

Office: LSF 204A
Phone: 843-661-1383
swrighten@fmarion.edu

FM Mark in Red and Blue

Dr. Janay Vacharasin

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: MSB 301C
Phone: 843-661-1566
Janay.Vacharasin@FMarion.edu

Photo of Paul Zwiers

Dr. Paul B. Zwiers

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: MSB 201D
Phone: 843-661-1654
pzwiers@fmarion.edu

Part-Time Faculty and Staff

Cody D. Beard

Administrative Assistant - Admissions
Part-time Instructor of Biology

Office: SAB 113
Phone: 843-661-1231
Cody.Beard@FMarion.edu

Hope Camper

Ms. Hope Camper

Part-Time Instructor of Biology

Office: LSF 204
Phone: 843-661-1827
hcamper@fmarion.edu

Jennifer Majors

Ms. Jennifer L. Majors

Part-Time Instructor of Biology

office: LSF 204
Phone: 843-661-1382
jmajors@fmarion.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Julia Krebs

Dr. Julia E. Krebs

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1977-2021

Dr. Larry J. McCumber

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1982-2015  

John Rae III

Dr. John G. Rae, III

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1988-2013  

Dr. David J. Stroup

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1987-2015