April 22, 2024

FMU Faculty Recognized During Annual Awards Ceremony

Pictured left to right: Dr. J. Mark Blackwell, Dr. Ana-Elisa Iglesias, President Fred Carter, Dr. Jason Doll, and Dr. Hubert Setzler.

Four Francis Marion University faculty members were honored for their outstanding work during the university’s annual faculty awards night held at the FMU Performing Arts Center in downtown Florence Thursday evening. 

Dr. J. Mark Blackwell, Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies, was awarded the Charlene Wages Shared Governance Award by the university’s chapter of the American Association of University Professors. This award is given to a faculty member who has made substantial contributions to shared governance at the university.

Blackwell joined the faculty of Francis Marion in 2000. He received the Bachelor of Arts in English from George Mason University, the Master of Divinity – Higher Education Track from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, and the Doctor of Philosophy, Department of Biblical Studies, from the University of Sheffield.

Three faculty members were honored for their individual work during the 2023-2024 academic year.

Dr. Ana-Elisa Iglesias, Assistant Professor of Management, received the Award for Excellence in Teaching; Dr. Jason Doll, Assistant Professor of Fisheries, was honored with the Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship; and Dr. Hubert Setzler, Professor of Management, received the Award for Excellence in Professional Service. 

Iglesias holds a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from Paulista University, an MBA from Mackenzie University, and a Ph.D. in Business Administration from Georgia State University. 

Doll earned a Bachelor of Science in Biology with a focus in aquatic biology and fisheries, the Master of Science in Aquatic Biology and Fisheries, and a Ph.D. in Environmental Science from Ball State University. 

Setzler earned a Bachelor of Arts from Newberry College and the Master of Business Administration and Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina – Charlotte Campus. 

Twelve retiring faculty members were also recognized and named Professor Emeriti during the ceremony. They are: Dr. Joseph Aniello, Dr. Wendy Caldwell, Dr. Bryan Fisher, Dr. Rebecca Flannagan, Dr. Teresa Herzog, Dr. Callum Johnston, Dr. Ben Kyer, Dr. Gerald Long, Dr. Mary Louise Nagata, Ms. Suzanne Singleton, Dr. Ann Stoeckmann, and Dr. Jon Tuttle.