December 4, 2019

Sine of affection: FMU’s High School Mathematics Tournament celebrates 40th year

Sine of affection: FMU’s High School Mathematics Tournament celebrates 40th year

Francis Marion University recently celebrated the long-pondered equation of “Francis Marion + the Pee Dee’s top math students” with the answer of the Pee Dee Regional High School Math Tournament.

The tournament noted its 40th year of competition on Tuesday, Dec. 3 in the McNair Science Facility on the FMU campus.

The Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament – sponsored by Francis Marion University, Mu Alpha Theta, and the Pee Dee Education Center – consists of two portions: a written competition and a stage competition.

Nineteen high schools and 308 students from ten counties throughout the Pee Dee took part in this year’s tournament.

The winners of the written competition were: First place – Henry Hein, Scholars Academy; Second place – Ryan Bao, Scholars Academy; Minh Le, Trinity-Byrnes Collegiate School. Two honorable mentions from the written competition were: Isabella Aparicio, Scholars Academy; Tanner Buck, Scholars Academy; Biruja Dahal, Scholars Academy; Alexis Hinson, Wilson High School; Hudson Hok, Scholars Academy; Hunter Kuperman, Scholars Academy; Phong Le, Scholars Academy; Jackson Lowe, Trinity-Byrnes Collegiate School; Eoin Manhood, Scholars Academy; Salomon Rice, Wilson High School; James Suggs, South Florence High School; Jason Ward, Scholars Academy.

The Top tetrad champions were Scholars Academy. Mayo High School, Trinity-Byrnes Collegiate School, and Wilson High School were runners up.

Central High School of Pageland was the division one winner, and South Florence High School was the division two winner.