June 7, 2023

FMU announces McNair and Darla Moore Scholars for the 2023-2024 school year

FMU announces McNair and Darla Moore Scholars for the 2023-2024 school year

Francis Marion University has named the recipients of two of its most prestigious scholarships for the 2023-2024 school year. 

The McNair Scholarship is FMU’s highest academic scholarship award and is highly competitive. It is based not only on scholarship, but on community involvement. The University seeks to award the scholarship to students who desire to serve their community, and who have already exhibited an eagerness and ability to do so. The privately endowed scholarship was established in the 2009-2010 school year and is named in honor of former South Carolina Governor Robert E. McNair, who was instrumental in the creation of Francis Marion University. McNair’s life of service is a model for the scholarship’s recipients.

The 2023-2024 McNair Scholarship recipients are Leigh Melody Detalo of Wilson High School in Florence, SC, and Briana Sessions of Carvers Bay High School in Hemingway, SC. Detalo plans to major in Industrial Engineering. Sessions plans to study English.

Throughout their academic careers, McNair Scholars are encouraged to participate in community-centered activities, especially those benefiting the Pee Dee region. The scholarship covers tuition, fees, and room and board. McNair Scholars also have travel abroad opportunities.

The Darla Moore Scholarship is funded by a generous $5 million gift from the Darla Moore Foundation and its founder, renowned entrepreneur and philanthropist Darla Moore of Lake City, SC. The scholarship covers tuition, housing, and a meal plan.

The 2023-2024 Darla Moore Scholarship recipients are:

  • Ana Aleman Villalobos of North Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Melinda Bartolon of Latta, SC
  • Nathan Byrd of Hartsville, SC
  • Joshua Calhoun of Galivants Ferry, SC
  • Caroline Filyaw of Florence, SC
  • Dominique Goodman of Columbia, SC
  • Kenia Graham of Georgetown. SC
  • Zoie Hambrick of Aiken, SC
  • Trevor Hilton of Dorchester, SC
  • Savannah Horne of Latta, SC
  • Charlee Hutt of North Augusta, SC
  • Jason Iseman of Lamar, SC
  • Austin Johnson of Florence, SC
  • Deeya Kambhaita of Johnsonville, SC
  • Ariana Livingston of Conway, SC
  • Marshaun Lones of Darlington, SC
  • Marshay Lones of Darlington, SC
  • Joi Middleton of Cordova, SC
  • Malaja Montgomery-Jones of Conway, SC
  • Kimberly Neely of West Columbia, SC
  • Jordyn Perry of Florence, SC
  • Thomas Richardson of Pamplico, SC
  • Brylie Roberts of Sellers, SC
  • Victoria Rogers of Hartsville, SC
  • Liliana Rojas Alderete of Newberry, SC
  • Shelley Sellers of Green Sea, SC
  • Imani Stanley-Deas of Ladson, SC
  • Nevaeh Sutton of Gaston, SC
  • Noah Turner of Florence, SC
  • Julian White of Florence, SC
  • Anna-Kaye Williams of Greenwood, SC
  • Madison Woodle of Bennettsville, SC