December 4, 2018

FMU hosts 42nd Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament

FMU hosts 42nd Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament

For the past 39 years, the equation “Francis Marion + the Pee Dee’s top math students” has always equaled the Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament.

The tournament, sponsored and presented the FMU Department of Mathematics, has grown from a small affair, to something high school students train for far in advance.

The tournament’s 42nd iteration took place on Tuesday, Dec. 4 in the McNair Science Facility on the FMU campus.

The Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament – sponsored by Francis Marion University, Mu Alpha Theta, and the Pee Dee Education Center – consists of two portions: a written competition, and a stage competition.

Eighteen schools and 292 students from throughout the Pee Dee took part in this year’s tournament.

The winners of the written competition were: First place – Dashiell Stevanovich, Scholars Academy; Second place – Ryan Bao, Scholars Academy; Third place – Henry Hein, Scholars Academy. Honorable mention was given to Cameron Ball, Scholars Academy; Justin Fuentes, Georgetown High School; Hudson Hok, Scholars Academy; Justin Indla, Scholars Academy; Marcos Mann, Scholars Academy; Ryan Moss, Scholars Academy; Dylan Ortuno, Scholars Academy; Ruth Player, Trinity-Byrnes Collegiate School; and Genna Rivers, Central High School.

The winners of the high school division competitions were: Division I – First place – Green Sea Floyds High School; Runners up Marion High School and Mullins High School. Division II – First place – The King’s Academy; Runner up – West Florence High School.

The Top Tetrad champions were Scholars Academy and Trinity-Byrnes Collegiate School was the division’s runner up. Central High School and Georgetown High School were also finalists.