March 2, 2017

FMU names McNair Scholars

FMU names McNair Scholars

Francis Marion University has named three students as recipients of the prestigious McNair Scholarship for the 2017-2018 school year.

Kailey Eggert of Paul M Dorman High School in Greenville, S.C.; Nathan Hinson of Chester Senior High School in Chester, S.C.; and Kyndell Smith of St. James High School in Murrells Inlet, S.C. are the newest scholars. Eggert plans to major in Biology. Hinson will major Political Science and Smith will major in Nursing.

The McNair Scholarship is FMU’s highest academic scholarship award.

It’s based not only on scholarship, but on community involvement as well. The University seeks to award the scholarship to students who desire to serve their community, and who have already exhibited a willingness and ability to do so.

McNair scholars are selected by a special committee made up of Francis Marion University faculty and administrators. The privately endowed scholarship was established in the 2009-2010 school year and is named in honor of former South Carolina Governor Robert E. McNair, who was instrumental in the creation of Francis Marion University. McNair’s own life of service is a model for the scholarship’s aims.

Throughout their academic careers, McNair Scholars will be encouraged to participate in community-centered activities, especially those that benefit the Pee Dee region. The scholarship covers tuition, fees, room and some book fees. It’s also provides McNair Scholars with several travel opportunities, including travel abroad.