April 16, 2019

Student achievement recognized at FMU Academic Awards

Student achievement recognized at FMU Academic Awards

Francis Marion University presented awards to outstanding students throughout all of its academic departments and schools during a ceremony on April 15 in the McNair Science Building’s Chapman Auditorium.

The top students in each department were recognized, including a number that received special named awards. A number of University-wide awards were also presented.

Macey Shelley was presented the Pee Dee Electric Cooperative Scholars Award. Ashley Krause received the President’s Undergraduate Research Award. Gabriel Hutson was awarded the Duane P. Myers Honors Award. Emma Driggers was presented the Phi Kappa Phi Award. Presley Hucks and Courtney Smith received the Scholastic Achievement Award.

The award recipients within the College of Liberal Arts were as follows: Biology Research Award, Jack Evans; Biology Award, Gabriel Hutson; Outstanding Sophomore Biology Award, Kylie McElroy; General Chemistry Award, Cassidy Knight; Organic Chemistry Award, Ashley Jordan; Analytical Chemistry Award, Deannah Neupert; S.C. Section of the American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemistry Major, Cydney Welch; W.H. Breazeale Chemistry Major Award, Corbin Witt; McCrimmon Writing Award, Nasiry David; Playwriting and Screenwriting Award, Jacquelynne Wilcox; Katharine S. Boling Memorial Award in Fiction, Richard B. Larsen Memorial Award, Sophia T. Bass; Robert R. Parham Poetry Award, Garrett Fuller; Modern Language Award, Leslie Gonzalez; Peggy Love McLaughlin Art Award, Courtney Smith; Dr. Jack W. Baker Memorial Award, Abigail Lesley; Donna H. Goodman Community Service Award, Breonna Brown; Theatre Arts Award, Emily Bochette; Music Industry Award, Andrew Hart; History Award, Sterling Sadler; Mass Communication Award, Kaitlyn Luna; Mathematics Award, Jonathan Britt, Chace Covington, and Kaitlyn Lowry; Engineering Technology Award, Joshua Smith; Health Physics Award, Jonas Smith; Computational Physics Award, Chace Covington; Industrial Engineering Award, Garrett Brown; Eileen L. Kirley-Tallon Political Science Award, Precious McLaughlin and John Ryan; Neal D. Thigpen Award in South Carolina Politics and Government, Alexander Turbeville; Dr. Jesse A. Coles Jr. Public Service Award, Bruce Cross; Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology, Ashley Wallace; L.A. Hoff Psychology Research Award, Ronkeela Jones; Mike Jordan Psychology Award, Ashley Krause; Linda M. Summer Social Work Award, Anna Zydor; Sociology Award, Joya Felton.

The award recipients within the School of Business were as follows: Accounting Award, Kristen Gibbons and William Humphries; Computer Science Award, Matthew Harrington; Economics Award, Matthew Bainbridge; Management Award, Curtis Mackinson, Jr.; Management Information Systems Award, Pitambar Singh; Marketing Award, Kristin Grzech; Finance Award, Allison Mahn.

The award recipients within the School of Education were as follows: Thomas W. Sills Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education, Courtney Conyers; James E. Potterfield Award in Elementary Education, Jacqueline Hancock; Art Education Award, Amy Hinson.

The award recipients within the School of Health Sciences were as follows: Healthcare Administration Award, Chandler McIntyre; Undergraduate Nursing Award, Bailey Conner; Graduate Nursing Award, Gabrielle Scott; Physician Assistant Award, Jeffre McCutcheon.