April 17, 2018

Francis Marion presents student academic awards

Francis Marion presents student academic awards

Francis Marion University presented awards to outstanding students in all its academic departments during a ceremony on April 16 in the McNair Science Building’s Chapman Auditorium.

The top students in each department were recognized. Some students also received special named awards. A number of university awards were also presented.

Sara Christine Wilkerson was presented the Pee Dee Electric Cooperative Scholars Award. Melina Emily Much received the President’s Undergraduate Research Award. Much was awarded the Duane P. Myers Honors Award. Gabriel Clint Hutson received the Honors Student Advisory Council Award for the second year in a row. Melina Much also received the Phi Kappa Phi Award.

Winners of the Scholastic Achievement Award were William Chandler Huntley, Emily Brook Lavender, Melina Emily Much, Emily Ella Wachter and Shelly Elizabeth Smith.

The awards for the College of Liberal Arts are as follows: Biology Award, Amber Lynn Zonca; Biology Research Award, Ryan Clayton Holland; Outstanding Sophomore Biology Award, Zachary Stephen Cagle; General Chemistry Award, Darian Cooper Sansbury; Organic Chemistry Award, William Henry Seals, III; Analytical Chemistry Award, Christen Allyse Ezekiel; W.H. Breazeale Chemistry Major Award, Kalin Somone Smalls; SC Section of the American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemistry Major, Kalin Somone Smalls; English Award, Emily Ella Wachter and Joshua Irvin Stalheim; McCrimmon Writing Award, Micahla Nykol Kitchen; Playwriting/Screenwriting Award, Shari Antoinette Tingle; Katharine S. Boling Memorial Award In Fiction, Aolani Robinson; Richard B. Larsen Memorial Award, Taylor Ann Powell; Robert R. Parham Poetry Award, Diamond Ruby Gregory; Modern Language Award, Joshua Daniel Smith; Peggy Love McLaughlan Art Award, Jordan Leigh Stucky; Dr. Jack W. Baker Memorial Award, Philip Zeb Sowell; Donna H. Goodman Community Service Award, Anna Kathryn Strickland; Music Industry Award, Blake Alan Avery; Theatre Arts Award, Jordan Lyn Watson and Ilia Katharine Campbell; History Award, Harrison Francis Smith; Mass Communication Award, Lauren Danielle Owens; Mathematics Award, Javier Bustos-Jaimes, Yaping Yang and April Michelle Garrity; Engineering Technology Award, Colton Jake Hutchinson; Health Physics Award, Kevin Forbes Wykoff; Computational Physics Award, April Michelle Garrity; Industrial Engineering Award, Javier Bustos-Jaimes; Eileen L. Kirley-Tallon Political Science Award, Melina Emily Much and William Chandler Huntley; Neal D. Thigpen Award in South Carolina Politics and Government, Tyler Tristan Hughes; Dr. Jesse A. Coles Jr. Award for Public Service, Precious Nycole McLaughlin; Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology, Hadiaya Ayanna Manners and Heather Marie K. Causey; L.A. Hoff Psychology Research Award, Andrew Cope Quattro; Mike Jordan Psychology Award, Ronda Renay Gandy; Linda M. summer Social Work Award, Alayna Morgan Hoover.

School of Business Awards were as follows: Accounting Award, Emily Hope Johnson and Bridget Nicole Gainey; Computer Science Award, Stewart Patrick Wallace; Economics Award, Melina Emily Much; Management Award, Marie Katherin Krueger; Management Information Systems Award, Jackson Gabriel Currin; Marketing Award, Taylor Lorraine Gray.

School of Education Awards were as follows: Thomas W. Sills Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education, Emily Brook Lavender; James E. Potterfield Award in Elementary Education, Shelly Elizabeth Smith; Middle Level Education Award, Anna Kathryn Strickland.

School of Health Sciences Awards were as follows: Heathcare Administration Award, Michael Allen Whittington; Nursing Award, Grayson Andi Hucks.