In March 2024, Dr. Jessica Burke’s application for promotion to Professor of Sociology was approved by Dr. Fred Carter and will take effect in Fall 2024.  Congratulations on your accomplishment, Dr. Burke!

Student Accomplishments

Sociology majors Maleah Condrey and Carmen (Kit) Lowery participated in the Carolina Undergraduate Social Sciences Symposium (CUSSS) hosted by Newberry College in April.  Maleah’s research titled “Social Media and Its Effects on Wellbeing” won first place in both the Paper Competition and Presentation Competition.  Kit’s research titled “Religious Life” won second place in the Paper Competition.  This is the second year in a row an FMU student won first place for best paper and best presentation.

Carmen (Kit) Lowery was accepted to the College of Charleston’s public administration graduate program.  As a graduate student, Kit will work toward a Master’s degree in Public Administration.

Kasandra (Kassi) Clark, a Sociology and Psychology double major, was one of five students presented with the William H. Blackwell Award at Spring Commencement in May.  This award is given to students who exemplify excellence in scholarship and who have attained, in all academic work, the highest academic achievement among those receiving the baccalaureate degree.  Kassi was able to maintain a perfect 4.0 GPA during her studies here at FMU.

Congratulations, Maleah, Kit, and Kassi!

Awards & Honors

  • In the Spring of 2024, Kasandra (Kassi) Clark and Emily Cooper were the recipients of the Sociology Award and Linda M. Summer Social Work Award, respectively. The Sociology Award is given to the graduating Sociology major with the highest GPA in Sociology and overall. The Linda M. Summer Social Work Award is given to the graduating Sociology major who has an excellent Sociology GPA and has gone above and beyond their required coursework by engaging in activities (such as research outside of the classroom or an internship).
  • During the 2023-2024 academic year, Alpha Kappa Delta, the Sociology Honor Society, inducted three students for lifetime membership:
    • Maleah Condrey
    • Emily Cooper
    • Ja’Kari Tisdale