Several of our students presented posters in Columbia on Oct 24th.

Those who presented are Caroline Granger, Colby Will, Marisai McCrimmon, Caitlin Erb and Macy Barnhill


Roche Donation

Roche-Carolina Pharmaceuticals recently (7-16) donated a sizable amount of glassware and equipment to our department.

Dr. LeRoy Peterson named Chair of Department

Dr. Peterson, a graduate of FMU, was recently named Chair of the Department,  beginning Summer II of 2015

ACS Chapter to attend SERMACS 2016

The 68th Southeastern Regional Meeting
of the American Chemical Society

October 23-26, 2016, Columbia

Our Dr. Jennifer Kelley is heavily involved in the planning of this event.


ACS Student Chapter Award receives Outstanding Chapter 2010-2011 Award  Sept 2011

Overall Chapter Report Comments:
This chapter is motivated and active – many great accomplishments this year and was able to meet objectives. Obviously some dedicated members and faculty appear to be involved overall. We think the chapter is great and is probably working to its full potential. Our only suggestion is to take advantage of their standing in the local section and as members of the local section become more involved both as members of the local section and by partnering with the local section.

The 2010-11 award winning chapters will be recognized in the November/December issue of “in Chemistry” magazine and at the ACS Student Chapter Award Ceremony that will be held at the 243rd ACS National Meeting in San Diego, CA.

Dr. LeRoy Peterson named Board of Trustees Research Scholar Oct 2011

Dr. Peterson received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of South Carolina and joined the faculty of Francis Marion University in 1990. An active researcher, Dr. Peterson has received grants from the National Science Foundation, the South Carolina EPSCoR/Brin Collaborative Research Program, and the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education. He is the author or co-author of numerous publications and presentations. He received the FMU Faculty Service Award for 2001-2002.

The Research Scholar designation signifies outstanding scholarly achievements and the promise of continued scholarly activity in the future.

Dr. Jennifer Kelley wins Faculty Public Service award

At the Distinguished Faculty Award Dinner in April 2014, Dr. Kelley was named winner of the Faculty Service Award for the University.

This included time spent in outreach, helping with finding jobs, taking students to the Regional American Chemical Society meetings, and extensive work with the student group of the American Chemical Society. She is also the Chair of the SC section of the American Chemical Society.